Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Alumni
marco.mueller
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Accepted Solution

Setting up Remote Solve/Fast Track

716 Views, 5 Replies
11-01-2011 03:11 AM

KB Article For More Detail:

 

The remote solve capabilities of Autodesk Simulation CFD allow users to perform the calculation of their analysis on a different computer than their own. With this remote solve option the available computation power can be optimally used.

 

If there are two computers (interface computer > analysis computer) involved the following requirements are necessary:

 

  • Both computers have to be in the same network (WAN or LAN)
  • Both computers need the installation of the same version of Autodesk Simulation CFD
  • The interface computer needs to be configured:

Inside the installation folder at the interface computer (i. e. C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Simulation CFD 2012\...) there is file called server.cfg. Open this file with Notepad and simply enter the name (or IP address) of the analysis computer.

 

After restarting the software at the interface computer the user is able to chose the desired analysis computer:

 

11-1-2011 10-56-37 AM.png

 

Additional computers can be added in new lines inside the server.cfg-file. Also the number of CPU cores to be used for the calculation can be specified (default value is the maximum available number of cores, smaller than or equal to 2^N: so 2, 4, 8, 16...). e. g. to use only 4 cores the line should look like:

 

*4cores analysis-pc-name MPI4

*8cores analysis-pc-name MPI8



Marco Müller
Product Support Specialist
Digital Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
pwilkins
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎11-02-2011

Re: Setting up Fast Track

11-02-2011 09:09 AM in reply to: marco.mueller

In order to use this function do we have to buy 2 licenses?

Please use plain text.
Alumni
marco.mueller
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

Re: Setting up Fast Track

11-03-2011 12:40 AM in reply to: pwilkins

No, all is possible with one license but of course just one job at the same time.



Marco Müller
Product Support Specialist
Digital Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Royce_adsk
Posts: 552
Registered: ‎08-24-2011

Re: Setting up Fast Track

11-03-2011 07:00 AM in reply to: marco.mueller

Excellent guide Marco!

 

One concern that might trip some users up is the issue of Firewalls.

 

Here is a list of programs that you should add as exceptions to cover all aspects:

 

cfdcalc.exe

mesher.exe

cfdesign.exe

servman.exe

cfdserv.exe

CFdMonitor.exe

 



Royce Abel
Please use plain text.
Member
WillieGillespie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-24-2007

Re: Setting up Fast Track

12-06-2011 05:55 AM in reply to: marco.mueller

Another question about the licensing in this sort of setup.  Is it licensed per interface computer, or per solver computer?

In the dialog above, it shows several computers that could be picked as solvers.  Does that mean they had 5 licenses?  Or is it the interface computer that has the license, and it can pick any 1 solver computer?

 

Or is it a different setup with a network license where just the first solver that checks it out gets the license, but all are equal candidates?

Please use plain text.
Alumni
marco.mueller
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-30-2011

Re: Setting up Fast Track

12-06-2011 06:01 AM in reply to: WillieGillespie

the license is perfectly splitted in one interface* and one solver portion (if you own 1 full license). The computer that first obtains a license (if there is one left) has is until it is released. Other computers have to wait. The is valid for the interface and solver portion, both are independent from each other.

 

* the interface itself needs at least one CAD connection (exception: Inventor Fusion connection is not licensed and free)



Marco Müller
Product Support Specialist
Digital Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.
Please use plain text.