Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Active Member
fscheunp
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Accepted Solution

Problem with Resistance under CFD 2014

233 Views, 3 Replies
08-30-2013 12:20 AM

Hello community,

 

I have a problem with Resistance under CFD 2014.

 

I have CFD Study which was created, simulated and post-processed with CFD2013.

 

Now i use the support File for import in CFD 2014, because i need the geometry in 2014.

 

But it do not work. 2014 have any problems with the Resistance. Any cases divergence...

 

i pick for the resistance a konstant value of 20 in the main flow. The secondary flow is locked by me with a value of 1e+6 and 1e+7 (like in the tutorial and handbook).

 

I think, the solver have problems with the high resistance constant value.

 

Do you have any ideas?

 

Greetings Frank

 

 

Please use plain text.
*Expert Elite*
OmkarJ
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Re: Problem with Resistance under CFD 2014

08-30-2013 03:24 AM in reply to: fscheunp

Probably, your turbulence numerics is not relaxed approproately? How about decreasing the under relaxation factors? Also, you may want to make sure Automatic Intelligent Control is enabled, it takes care of timescales through out the domain. You can only judge the performance of resistance after you are sure all the other factors are taken care of.

 

OJ

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
marco.mueller
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎05-16-2012

Re: Problem with Resistance under CFD 2014

09-02-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: fscheunp

Hi Frank,

 

try the flag "no_difu_tensors 1", which resets the resistance model to v2013.

 

Marco

Please use plain text.
New Member
ozaha
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-07-2013

Re: Problem with Resistance under CFD 2014

10-10-2013 09:50 AM in reply to: marco.mueller

Had similar problem to Frank's. Used the flag option Marco mentioned. It worked like a charm.

Thanks

Oz

Please use plain text.