Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Active Member
chien_fu
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-26-2011
Accepted Solution

ISO Surface clipping in reverse?

317 Views, 4 Replies
11-03-2011 06:26 AM

I am looking to determine slow moving particles in our current analysis.  In using an ISO surface it first shows the fastest moving particles and moves outward to include slowest moving particles.  Is there a way to show slowest or non-moving particles FIRST?

 

Thank you.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Royce_adsk
Posts: 555
Registered: ‎08-24-2011

Re: ISO Surface clipping in reverse?

11-03-2011 07:11 AM in reply to: chien_fu

I don't quite follow your question here.

 

An iso-surface will display a surface of a specific value that you set for a quantitiy that you want to view.  Anything inside of the surface has a larger value and anything outside of the surface has a smaller value.

 

If you want to see 'slower' fluid, set your iso-surface to that value.  If it is difficult to view your model from there sometimes adding a plane down the middle of the model and turn on clipping will allow you to see inside of the model.

 

You might also want to refer to my comment about Local Mean Age in your other case to find 'stale' fluid inside of a model.

 

-Royce

 



Royce Abel
Please use plain text.
Active Member
chien_fu
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-26-2011

Re: ISO Surface clipping in reverse?

11-03-2011 08:25 AM in reply to: Royce_adsk

I am looking for the surface to encapsulate particles of a lower value instead of a higher value.  I'm also looking into the Local mean age you suggested.  Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Employee
derrek.cooper
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎04-06-2011

Re: ISO Surface clipping in reverse?

11-03-2011 08:35 AM in reply to: chien_fu

I'm not sure I understand the question fully. You can create an ISO surface for high and small values using the slider. But, ISO refers to 1 value.. So if you have pressure of 1 bar and you want to see the pressure of 1 bar everywhere in the model, that is what ISO is used for.

 

On the other hand, if you want to see a range of values -- you want to use "filtering" (right click in the graphics). This will allow you to see a rage of pressures from say 0-0.5

 

 

Please use plain text.
Active Member
chien_fu
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-26-2011

Re: ISO Surface clipping in reverse?

11-03-2011 10:10 AM in reply to: derrek.cooper

Thanks, I think I'm catching on.

Please use plain text.