Discussion Groups

Simulation CFD

Reply
Active Member
n.jacky
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-17-2012
Accepted Solution

How to optimise Autodesk CFD simulation 2012

502 Views, 3 Replies
02-28-2012 02:12 AM

Hello everybody,

 

I have a question regarding the optimisation of the efficiency of the software. Are there some modifications in my computert to allow CFD simulation to use the maximum of my machine.

 

Thank a lot

Please use plain text.
Product Support
apolo.vanderberg
Posts: 263
Registered: ‎08-31-2011

Re: How to optimise Autodesk CFD simulation 2012

03-23-2012 05:56 AM in reply to: n.jacky

By default Simulation CFD 2012 will use as many physical* cores as exist on the machine

 

*Note we do not leverage Hyper-Threading (or virtual cores). If you have Hyper-Threading turned on, (assuming 4core cpu) we would at most use 50% according to Windows. Windows will report 8threads, 4 physical cores and 4 virtual. We will set 1 solver per real core.

 

Aside from that, there shouldn't be any other tweaks required to optimize your machine for CFD.

Apolo

Please use plain text.
New Member
ericdixon07
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-25-2010

Re: How to optimise Autodesk CFD simulation 2012

05-03-2012 08:25 AM in reply to: n.jacky

Does this mean that if I have hyperthreading enabled on my computer that the software will automatically adjust for this, or that I should disable hyperthreading to achieve better performance?

Please use plain text.
Product Support
apolo.vanderberg
Posts: 263
Registered: ‎08-31-2011

Re: How to optimise Autodesk CFD simulation 2012

05-04-2012 09:39 AM in reply to: ericdixon07

Correct. When we installed we assessed your system to find how many physical cores exist (excluding HyperThreaded cores) and we run enough solvers to max out those physical cores.

No further adjustments needed

Please use plain text.