Community
3ds Max Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speckled lighting - need some help

29 REPLIES 29
Message 1 of 30
ChrisBriley
1513 Views, 29 Replies

Speckled lighting - need some help

All right, I should warn everybody that I'm new to 3ds max and mental ray, so please forgive me if I've just overlooked something simple here, but I've reached the point where I'm starting to blame the software (a classic sign that one has reached a learning ceiling and must seek the advice of others who have afresh perspective.)

I'm getting some serious speckle effect in my whole scene. I've done my research and have looked at other posts regarding this issue. One fella solved this by changing his "cylinder" lights to "line" lights. Another changed his Pro Materials to A+D materials and that fixed it for him. One gal increased the shadow samples in her skylight and it seamed to fix it (though I have a feeling it just glossed over the problem). Another guy solved it by moving the light farther away from a set of 3d teeth. (Which made me wonder if there's some funky scale issue?) None of these really solved it for me. i have some images attached and I'll walk you through them.

1. The speckle effect in full glory. At this point I decide that I can't take it anymore and something must done.
2. I was suspicious of the sky portal I added behind the glass windows, so I tried a render with the Sky portal off. It's MUCH better, but still far from perfect. Look at all the "glare" points (especially on the ceiling) and now I don't have the nice light from the sky portal.
3. I turned up the shadow samples from my sky portals to 256. It's better, but I still have serious issues. Speckles everywhere just not as bright.