Community
3ds Max Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rendering a hidden line wireframe with glow

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Flotilla
2965 Views, 4 Replies

Rendering a hidden line wireframe with glow

I am fairly new to 3DS Max and I am trying to work out how I can render out a hidden line wireframe with a glow to it.

I know how to get a wireframe render using a standard material with the 'wire' box ticked and I can get a glow on the wireframe using the effects/lens effects/glow method but I cant work out how to get the render to render the object as a 'hidden line wireframe' so that wires that should be hidden behind faces are not rendered.

I have tried the ink and paint material but I only seem to be able to

get an outline of the entire object with no lines rendered within.

below are the standard, ink and paint/glow and wireframe/glow examples

hope that makes sense, any pointers appreciated

standard.jpg

ink and paint.jpgWireframe with glow.jpg

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: Flotilla

I found a solution to your problem using mental ray.

It consists of a blend shader with in the first slot a Matte/Shadow/Reflection shader and an arch & design shader with self-illumination enabled.

As for how it's set up:

- Add a "UVW Map" modifier to your object and set it to "Face", this way you can map an image to every single polygon.

- Then in your material editor create a "Gradient Ramp" and set its gradient type to "Box" and interpolation to "Solid"

- Adjust the gradient's colours to make a map where the border is completely white and the inside completely black.

- When you apply this gradient to every single face / polygon on your object, we'll simulate the wireframe effect.