Robot Structural Analysis Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Robot Structural Analysis Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Robot Structural Analysis topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 8
pevelor
6098 Views, 7 Replies

sizing slab

Hi Arthur

I am new at using Robot, and need some assistense to take the next step.

I am in the prosess of sizing a slab. Calculations seems to complete succesfully, but when I alter det thickness I get the same deflection values.

Could you please take a quick look at my file and guide me in the right direction (see attached file)

Your efforts are much appriciated:-)

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Artur.Kosakowski
in reply to: pevelor

Could you make screen captures that illustrate the values you obtained as well as the corresponding load case number and thickness applied to the panel in both cases please?

Artur Kosakowski
Message 3 of 8
pevelor

The required reinforcement differs for the two slabs whereas I get lower values over support for the 250mm slab, and less in midspan at bottom etc.

Attached are screenshoots 

Thanks again

Message 4 of 8
Artur.Kosakowski

In both cases the required reinforcement is at the minimal required area and the difference is caused by area of steel vs. area of concrete ratio limit (more steel for the thicker slab) with the exception of the locations over the columns. If you display the stiffness reduction factor for both slab you can see that it is approx. 1.77 and 1.74 respectively which means that the value of displacements in both cases for the equivalent stiffness method are expected to be similar.

You can see the difference after running the deflection verification with the stiffness update (I'm attaching the pictures showing this difference for case 21).

See also http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/elastic-and-nonelastic-slab-deflection-verif...