Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
gustavo.c.vasconcellos
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎04-15-2011
Accepted Solution

Total amount of rebar in the projecto

238 Views, 11 Replies
06-15-2012 02:49 PM

I would like to know if it is possible to get a report with the total amount of rebar in a project.

 

I tried to use Quantity Survey or Cost Estimation tables, as I do for steel, but there are no summary results with rebars.

 

I hope that there is a better way than sum up manually the results from the drawings or from the Note's tab!

 

Thanks

 

Gustavo

Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
tony.ridley
Posts: 636
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Total amount of rebar in the projecto

06-18-2012 12:09 AM in reply to: gustavo.c.vasconcellos

You could export to Revit and use schedule, not sure how if you don't have revit. 

 

Tony

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,261
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Total amount of rebar in the projecto

06-18-2012 12:11 AM in reply to: gustavo.c.vasconcellos

No, there is no such functionality in the current version of Robot. This is what  (along with other features) the export to ASD Reinforcement is intended for.

 

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.

 

 



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
gustavo.c.vasconcellos
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: Total amount of rebar in the projecto

06-18-2012 06:44 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Dear Artur,

 

the problem with this option is that when we transfer from Robot to ASD, it doesn't transfer for just one page.

 

It goes to many diferent ASD page and then we have to do the summary per page and then sum up "manually" everything.

 

Am I right or I am doing something wrong?

 

Gustavo

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
gustavo.c.vasconcellos
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: Total amount of rebar in the projecto

06-18-2012 06:53 AM in reply to: tony.ridley

Thank you Tony,

 

I will try this option, I didn't try this before because when I export the rebar it stays "outside" the beam. 

 

See the picture bellow

Beam2.PNG



 

In this simple example, I model in Revit 2013, send to Robot 2013, calculate the rebar in Robot, and then update from Revit.

 

Artur and Tony, any suggestion how to fix the issue???!!

 

Thanks

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,261
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Total amount of rebar in the projecto

06-18-2012 06:58 AM in reply to: gustavo.c.vasconcellos

Correct  unless you use Results > Structural Detailing option.

 

I think that this issue has already been discussed in details here: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/Export-to-ASD-Reinforcement/td-p/3251346/pag...



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
gustavo.c.vasconcellos
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: Total amount of rebar in the projecto

06-18-2012 07:30 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Artur,

 

we had discussed this issue and we asked to create a wish list including the option of exporting the elements to just one page, as requested by Dieter.

 

We cannot use the option Results> Structural Detailing to export many elements, because it takes a lot of time "arranging elements on the page", even using core i7 with 16MB of memory.

 

Maybe Tony suggestion is the best, but how can I fix the problem of the calculate rebar being outside the element in Revti?

 

Thanks

 

Gustavo

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,261
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Total amount of rebar in the projecto

06-18-2012 11:48 PM in reply to: gustavo.c.vasconcellos

Gustavo,

 

Yes, we are aware of these limitations and they are under investigation.

 

Tony,

 

Could you send me the Robot file you used for export to Revit please?



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
tony.ridley
Posts: 636
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Total amount of rebar in the projecto

06-19-2012 12:02 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Sorry which file???

 

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,261
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Total amount of rebar in the projecto

06-19-2012 12:27 AM in reply to: tony.ridley

Tony,

 

I'm sorry this was intended for Gustavo as well.

 

Gustavo,

 

Could you send me the rtd file please?



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.