Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Active Member
swieciakpawel
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-13-2011
Accepted Solution

Robot structural Analysis problem

2012 Views, 7 Replies
05-08-2011 11:04 PM

I've made first project using this software and I have unusual problem occuring. First, after adding all of the loads on my structure, the file crushed every time I tried to open it.

I tried opening in "Safe mode", same effect.

 

After sending automatic raport to your site, I got the message that issue is unknown, but i can install SP6, and I did so.

The file started to work again, but another problem occured, there were no combinations for Loads (just like they've been wiped out):

robot.jpg shows the problem, SGU, SGN means standard Servicability and Load Capacity checks from Eurocode.

 

A the beginning load combinations were normal and I could define from the list which is now empty.

Moreover any option of combinations (automatic, hand-made) have "estimated number of combinations : 0"

 

Things i have done so far:

- Reinstalled ROBOT software, then sp6  - no effect

- Tried removing last loads I've made (before the file stopped working ) - no effect

- Tried changing the base standard to make combinations - no effect

- Looked if the *rgl files responsible for combinations aren't missing, they seem to be on their place.

 

 

I have no ideas what to do now. Any help would be appreciated.

 

Yours Faithfully,

Pawel Swieciak

Please use plain text.
Product Support
pp2008
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎06-23-2008

Re: Robot structural Analysis problem

05-10-2011 03:42 AM in reply to: swieciakpawel

There is no name of the code for automatic combinations in the header of the window contained in your screen capture ("Default" text instead of the name of code).

It suggests that the code for automatic combinations is not selected or selected incorrectly in your project.

Please use Tools/ Job Preferences/ Design codes/ Loads/ Code combinations (in Polish interface: Narzedzia/ Preferencej zadania/ Normy projektowe/ Obciazenia/ Kombinacje normowe) to select or change code for automatic combinations.

 

Further steps to be done (effects below could result from changing the code for automatic combinations):

1/ make sure that the natures of loads are not empty - open Load Types window and if Nature of any simple load case is empty please assign it (in Polish interface the window "Przypadki obciazen")

2/ please make sure that some relations are defined on Relations tab of Load Case Code Combinations window (in Polish interface the window "Kombiancje normowe przypadków"). If there are no relations please use ">>" button to restore default relations.

 

Best regards,



Pawel Pulak
Please use plain text.
Active Member
swieciakpawel
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-13-2011

Re: Robot structural Analysis problem

05-11-2011 08:09 AM in reply to: swieciakpawel

Thanks for reply.

I've tried all of things you've mentioned, with same effect:

Changed codes, between EC1:2002, EC1:2004 and polish PN-3200,

All of my load groups have loads included.

Relations are defined, I even redefined them later with no effect.

Please use plain text.
Active Member
swieciakpawel
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-13-2011

Re: Robot structural Analysis problem

05-11-2011 08:35 AM in reply to: swieciakpawel

There is new thing I discovered out.

When i looked for the *.rgl files i found database on /documents and settings/all users/application data/autodesk/structural/common/data/2011/Rgl.... I opened Ec1.rgl file in Pondedit.exe (app from Robot). And I've seen all proper combinations.

Then i opened the rgl files in my Robot path :

C:\Documents and Settings\Właściciel\Dane aplikacji\Autodesk\Autodesk Robot Structural Analysis 2011\CfgUsr

And I've seen the files are... EMPTY.

I tried to copy the rgl file from database to CfgUsr folder, even with "Read only" option but the combinations after copying to folder just Disappeared!?

Please use plain text.
Product Support
pp2008
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎06-23-2008

Re: Robot structural Analysis problem

05-11-2011 08:52 AM in reply to: swieciakpawel

...\CfgUsr folder is a user configuration file folder which usually contains user-modified or user-created configuration files: Preferences, Job preferences, printout configuration, user-created RGL files

If in your case it contains default RGL files and moreover these files are empty please delete them because they have priority over analogous files from ...All Users\Application Data\Autodesk\Structural\Common Data\2011\Rgl folder

 

Regards,



Pawel Pulak
Please use plain text.
Active Member
swieciakpawel
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-13-2011

Re: Robot structural Analysis problem

05-11-2011 02:16 PM in reply to: swieciakpawel

I've deleted the files, opened project hoping for any change, but nothing happened.

Opened Tools/ Job Preferences/ Design codes/ Loads/ Code combinations and every time i chose Code or changed it, an empty file appeared in CfgUsr folder with the name of code.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
pp2008
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎06-23-2008

Re: Robot structural Analysis problem

05-12-2011 04:12 AM in reply to: swieciakpawel

Hello,

the effects you describe suggest that:

1/ your Windows login username contains Polish caracters

2/ after deleting empty RGL files from CfgUsr folder you have not only selected Code combination in Jub Preferences but also have opened corresponding RGL files pressing "..." button (calling pondedit.exe). After such action, when closing Job preferences, appropriate RGL file is copied to CfgUsr folder. In case of username containing Polish caracters this operation fails and copied RGL file is empty.

 

So you have 2 possibilities:

1/ or to use username without Polish caracters

2/ or to do not edit/open RGL files using "..." button from Job Preferences (only direct editing using pondedit.exe), or after any such action and the ocurrence of empty RGL file in CfgUsr folder deleting this file before generation of automatic combinations (it can be deleted even when Robot is still opened)

 

I hope my diagnosis was correct. Please confirm whether it works or no.

 

Regards,

Pawel Pulak



Pawel Pulak
Please use plain text.
Active Member
swieciakpawel
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-13-2011

Re: Robot structural Analysis problem

05-12-2011 10:30 AM in reply to: swieciakpawel

I just created new administrator account on my PC, without Polish characters.

Now everything is working FINE ! I don't know how to Thank you.

Since I'm the only user I can do my projects on my second account with no problem :smileyhappy:

 

Thank you again,

Yours sincerely,

Paweł Święciak.

Please use plain text.