Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Active Contributor
RoboExploiter
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-04-2011
Accepted Solution

Robot API for ARSA 2012 - error 429

786 Views, 12 Replies
11-03-2011 06:08 AM

Hi,

 

How do I get my hands on a copy of  the latest Robot Object Model API? My excel VBA addin developed for ARSA 2010 is not finding an open version of ARSA 2012.

 

And can someone give me a list of changes between the two object modeslI so i don't need to find the errors in my code one at a time during execution?

 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Posts: 4,454
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Robot API for ARSA 2012

11-03-2011 08:40 AM in reply to: RoboExploiter
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
RoboExploiter
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-04-2011

Re: Robot API for ARSA 2012

11-03-2011 08:37 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Rafal thanks.

 

I did what the thread suggested, unregistered both versions, reregistered 2012.  The Robot Object Model 2012 is now available as a reference.  However, now another error has occured: 

 

Run-time error '429': ActiveX component can't create object

 

I assume this error is now occuring due to changes in my computers registry.  Any ideas?

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Posts: 4,454
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Robot API for ARSA 2012

11-04-2011 01:32 AM in reply to: RoboExploiter

Check this :

 

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=184898

 

If it does not help please contact me by Private Message



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Posts: 4,454
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Robot API for ARSA 2012

11-07-2011 03:14 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Try also what is suggested in last post in this thread:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/VBA-Excel-macro-for-any-object-geometry-modi...



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
RoboExploiter
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-04-2011

Re: Robot API for ARSA 2012

11-29-2011 01:24 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Hi Guys,

 

Just thought I'd close out this post.  Adopting the solution provided in this post:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/VBA-Excel-macro-for-any-object-geometry-modi...

 

Resulted in "Run-time error '429': ActiveX component can't create object" during execution of my VBA code.  

 

The reason for this error is most probably changes to the registry.

 

The only way my IT department and I managed to fix this error was to unistall and reinstall MS Office.  Its just a little worrying that following the provided solution would impact on other installed software.

 

Cheers.

Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
RoboExploiter
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-04-2011

Re: Robot API for ARSA 2012

12-02-2011 01:41 AM in reply to: RoboExploiter

Hi Guys,

 

I'm reopening this post.  "Run-time error '429': ActiveX component can't create object" during execution of my VBA code, has not been resolved.

 

The reason for this error is most probably changes to the registry.

 

I've tried many methods to fix the registry and have reinstalled MS Office.

 

Please advise.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Posts: 4,454
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Robot API for ARSA 2012

12-02-2011 02:13 AM in reply to: RoboExploiter

Try this:

open VBA macro, go to references and uncheck Robot Object MOdeler reference, confirm closing.

Run macro, errors will be reported, stop macro

 go to references and add Robot Object MOdeler reference,

run macro.

If problem persists, run macro in debug mode (line by line) and make screen capture of line on which the problem occurs.



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
RoboExploiter
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-04-2011

Re: Robot API for ARSA 2012

12-04-2011 05:31 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Hi Rafal,

 

Why would tuning the reference off and on solve the problem?

 

I've attached print screens.

 

If I hover over the command: "Robot.Project.IsActive" the floating information says <ActiveX component can't create object>.  I can't capture this with a print screen.

 

Please advise.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Posts: 4,454
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Robot API for ARSA 2012

12-05-2011 01:22 AM in reply to: RoboExploiter

replace:

Set Robot = CreateObject(“Robot.Application”)

by

Set Robot  = new RobotApplication

 

and report what happens



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.