Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Mentor
stroxy
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Accepted Solution

Required Reinforcement different from Provided Reinforcement

337 Views, 3 Replies
12-23-2011 04:25 AM

I am noticing that the forces (and hence reinforcement calc results) are different in the required reinforcement module and provided reinforcement module.  Is there a reason for this.  I have attached snapshots showing forces used in the2 modules for bar 396 (highlighted in red in the required reinforcement module).

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 5,005
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Required Reinforcement different from Provided Reinforcement

12-23-2011 06:00 AM in reply to: stroxy

Hi

 

Have you selected the same combinations for both design?

As far as I can see you are comparing different combination results



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Mentor
stroxy
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎12-06-2011

Re: Required Reinforcement different from Provided Reinforcement

12-23-2011 09:56 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

I chose my combinations as attached

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,616
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Required Reinforcement different from Provided Reinforcement

12-27-2011 11:25 PM in reply to: stroxy

Stroxy,

 

Two points:

1. Actually your selection of loads for these two methods seems to be different. I assume that you selected manual or code combinations for the RC member theoretical reinforcement module and simple load cases for the RC Column design module. The latter results in allowing the program to create combinations itself based on the rules (regulation) you selected in Job Preferences.

2. Mind that the load/combination indicated as the governing one is the one that give the highest load/capacity ratio. As in the RC Column design module calculations of the column's capacity is done by checking the equilibrium of applied forces vs. generated reinforcement taking into account the exact position of each of the reinforcement bar rather than theoretical area of reinforcement it may happen that these two modules show different governing load case if the column capacity against each of them is similar.

 

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.

 



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.