Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Contributor
leoemmett12345
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Accepted Solution

Reinforcement calculation issues

595 Views, 15 Replies
03-25-2013 06:10 AM

Hello,

 

I am modelling a cylindrical liquid retaining reinforced concrete strucutre.  

 

I currently have two issues, (I am sure I will find many more!!)

 

firstly my base slab (13 in this case) gives the error message "incorrect reinforcement direction" I want it to be a two way spanning slab how do I change this?

 

Secondly, when trying to calculate the required reinforcement for pannel 1. I get the error message "indicated objects must be in the same plane" I have tried using edit -> detailed correct and then change it to the correct pannel orientation (see attached), however I still get the same error message. It is most frustrating! does anyone know why, because as far as I can see I have changed the plane..... 

 

also will robot have issues for calculating the reinforcement for my cylindrical exterior walls?

 

I have attached my robot file and also a screen shot to show how I have been trying to change the plane.

 

Thanks for any help/advice you can give.

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,540
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Reinforcement calculation issues

03-25-2013 06:22 AM in reply to: leoemmett12345

firstly my base slab (13 in this case) gives the error message "incorrect reinforcement direction" I want it to be a two way spanning slab how do I change this?

 

It seems that you defined the direction of the main reinforcement as perpendicular to the panel.

 

For other points - you missed the attachments.

 



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Contributor
leoemmett12345
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-12-2013

Re: Reinforcement calculation issues

03-25-2013 06:37 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

It wont let me add the file as it is too large, can I email it to you?

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,540
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Reinforcement calculation issues

03-25-2013 06:47 AM in reply to: leoemmett12345
Please use plain text.
Contributor
leoemmett12345
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-12-2013

Re: Reinforcement calculation issues

03-25-2013 06:50 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,540
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Reinforcement calculation issues

03-25-2013 07:42 AM in reply to: leoemmett12345

For panel 13 as I assumed you have to redefine the direction of reinforcement (see the attached picture)

 

For the export of the panel 1 to the RC Provided Slab reinforcement module: you have to redefine the panel as extruded ones are currently not supported. You need to define it as e.g. a vertical contour with 4 points.

 

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Contributor
leoemmett12345
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-12-2013

Re: Reinforcement calculation issues

03-25-2013 08:02 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Thanks, ill let you know how it goes, 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
leoemmett12345
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-12-2013

Re: Reinforcement calculation issues

03-25-2013 01:06 PM in reply to: leoemmett12345

I have changed the panels to contours. Now I am having real issues with trying to apply the mesh. I started going with the coons with rectangular elements and that hasn't worked, since I have tried all manner of meshes all with no luck. Can you offer any advice? 

 

please see this:

 

http://www.4shared.com/file/aYarvaIr/ver3_anothermesh.html

 

thanks for your help. 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,540
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Reinforcement calculation issues

03-26-2013 01:20 AM in reply to: leoemmett12345

Try to follow the steps shown on the attached pictures (starting with your original model).

 

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Contributor
leoemmett12345
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-12-2013

Re: Reinforcement calculation issues

03-26-2013 04:50 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Hi thanks again, I have changed them but now I cant apply a thickness to some of my panels, Whenever I go to the panel properties and change it to TH500 it selects it then doesn't actually go through with the selection! I am sure it is some small thing that I am missing! Any suggestions?

 

http://www.4shared.com/file/VEAbiWCo/ver8pumps_3D.html?

Please use plain text.