Robot Structural Analysis Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Robot Structural Analysis Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Robot Structural Analysis topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with seismic analyses

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
Jummybear
611 Views, 10 Replies

Need help with seismic analyses

Hi,

I am not a pro in seismic analyses because we dont perform them in our everyday job. Now i have a chance to try out such analyses for training in one project. I have questions, hope to get answers also 🙂

1. What is the difference between Modal+Seismic and Seismic (Equivalent Lateral Force Method)? As i understand second one is simplifed method and dont need modal analyses to run.  Can i read about simplifed method in details?

2. I will go through complicated or more detailed way, so to make a new type of seismic analyses i need to run modal analyses first.

3. In modal analyses parameters i should choose nalyses mode: modal, seismic or seismic (pseudo mode). What is the difference between modal and seismic? As i can understand from help, then seismic analyses select vibration modes not in appropriate order and with seismic mode those modes will be set which are important (with large mass paricipation factor). How Robot define which ones are not important and which are important? I did some test on my model: i created 2 modal analyses with 2 different analyses types: modal and seismic. But results are the same and moreover robot switched itself seismic mode to modal mode...

4. Its recommend to obtain 90% of mass participation in seismic analyses but i cant obtain it in first 200 modes. Should i just increase the number of modes?

Updated: i have tried with only 1 modal analyses and seismic mode in parameters but robot switched it also to modal mode...

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
t.sautierr
in reply to: Jummybear

Hi,