Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Active Contributor
STP_MS
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
Accepted Solution

Load transfer slab to beam and beam offset

1223 Views, 5 Replies
03-27-2013 06:42 AM

Hi,

 

I am analysing concrete slab supported by two metal beams.

 

I have created test model with 4 storeys:

Story 4 - concrete slab + metal beams without offset

Story 3 - concrete slab + metal beams with offset

Story 2 - cladding + metal beams without offset

Story 1 - cladding + metal beams with offset

 

Problems I have:

1. Storyes 3 and 4 - slabs do not transfer load.

2. Story 1 - How to avoid moments over supports.

 

Can you help me with this?

Thanks

 

Here is the link to the model: http://www.4shared.com/file/sXm7Z-i5/TEST_MOD_0_0.html

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 4,938
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Load transfer slab to beam and beam offset

03-27-2013 07:10 AM in reply to: STP_MS

1. Storyes 3 and 4 - slabs do not transfer load.

 

Wrong load type - must be any (FE)... load

 

wrongloadtyp.jpg

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
STP_MS
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎02-26-2013

Re: Load transfer slab to beam and beam offset

03-27-2013 07:33 AM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Thanks for answering question No.1.

 

For question No.2:
I am trying to get results like on Story 2 - beam independant from the slab.

To be precise, I want to transfer the load from the slab to the beam without two of them "working together".

How can I model this?

 

3. Additional question: Is there a way to show beam with offset without influence to the calculations? I need it for presentation purposes

 

Thanks

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 4,938
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Load transfer slab to beam and beam offset

03-27-2013 08:28 AM in reply to: STP_MS
 

3. Additional question: Is there a way to show beam with offset without influence to the calculations? I need it for presentation purposes

 


Either make two models or use Word or PowerPoint to "prepare correct" presentation making screen shots from Robot.

 



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 4,938
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Load transfer slab to beam and beam offset

03-27-2013 08:40 AM in reply to: STP_MS


I am trying to get results like on Story 2 - beam independant from the slab.

To be precise, I want to transfer the load from the slab to the beam without two of them "working together".

 

If I understood you correclty:

- there is no slab on Story 2 (only cladding) so the beams works independent

Whatever

 

- you may use panel with calculation model like that (such or similar settings (Stiffening in XY)):

 

calcmo.jpg

 

- or use Linear releases on panels edges

 

linrel1.jpg

 

or like in message 5:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Robot-Structural/Meshed-slab-supported-by-beams/m-p/3167096/h...



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.