Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎11-01-2011

LINEAR LOADS

455 Views, 7 Replies
12-26-2011 12:47 AM

Hi. Whenever i have a linear load, be it live, dead or whatever, and I show the loads anyways in the model, the linear loads are revealed even if they do not apply to the part I am showing. Please see figure. Is there a way to stop the linear loads from showing unless it is the part they are applied to.

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Francois.Augiere
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎05-13-2011

Re: LINEAR LOADS

12-26-2011 01:52 AM in reply to: AJA14

Could you send us your model (Compressed RTD file) please ?



Francois Augiere
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎11-01-2011

Re: LINEAR LOADS

12-26-2011 03:13 AM in reply to: Francois.Augiere

Hi. I tried to send a sample model *.rtd, but it says that the extension is unsupported. I also tried to use winrar but I received the same thing. How should I upload it.

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Francois.Augiere
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎05-13-2011

Re: LINEAR LOADS

12-26-2011 03:17 AM in reply to: AJA14

Maybe try to rename it first (*.txt instead of *.RTD), then zip it



Francois Augiere
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎11-01-2011

Re: LINEAR LOADS

12-26-2011 03:33 AM in reply to: Francois.Augiere

still doesn't work. it does not recognize *.rar, and even if i change the extension to *.txt it takes it as *.txt.rtd.

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Francois.Augiere
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎05-13-2011

Re: LINEAR LOADS

12-27-2011 06:34 AM in reply to: AJA14

Please check the message i sent you in Private Message



Francois Augiere
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎11-01-2011

Re: LINEAR LOADS

12-27-2011 09:05 PM in reply to: Francois.Augiere

I have attached it as you said. Thanks for your assistance. I hope this helps to clarify my question.

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Francois.Augiere
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎05-13-2011

Re: LINEAR LOADS

12-28-2011 01:11 AM in reply to: AJA14

This is due to the fact that "linear load 2p" is not a kind of load applied to objects/panels, it is defined by 2 points coordinates. So when you use "Edit in a new window" with panel 9 selected, the linear load 2p is still shown (as part of the same load case).

You could use instead load on edge, with a new definition of the lower slab (see attached modified RTD file, and screen captures)

 

If you find your post answered press the Accept as Solution button please. This will help other users to find solutions much faster. Thank you.



Francois Augiere
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Please use plain text.