Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
gustavo.c.vasconcellos
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

08-28-2012 08:31 PM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Dear Artur,

 

it is a work around that works, but we need a way to fix it and find the reason why ASD is crashing so constantaly

 

Thanks

 

Gustavo

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,540
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

08-29-2012 12:09 AM in reply to: gustavo.c.vasconcellos

Based on the crash reports you sent I assume that you have not compatible (different settings) in Robot and ASD. Do you use your own reinforcement database or template in ASD? The problem seems to be in determining bar shapes.



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
gustavo.c.vasconcellos
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

08-29-2012 05:42 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Yes Artur, I have to use a "brazilian" reinforcement database.

 

Basically what I did was the following:

 

I changed the BAR_EHE (Spain) reinforcement, changing 6mm to 6.3mm, the 12mm to 12,5mm and removed 14mm.

 

I looked for the template and bar shape that was the closest to the Brazlian one and chose the Italian (RBCR-039) and changed the tables from Italian to Portuguese language.

 

After I had created "my" BAR_EHE database, I copy it  to all the locations that had a previous version using the windows explore find and substitute comand.

 

What is strange is that I have been working this way for more than one year and this issue had started happened less than 2 weeks. Maybe it was due to some update that I had installed in Robot or ASD.

 

Should I review if the BAR_EHE database is the same in all the locations again? Or there is a better way to do it?

 

Thanks again for the support and to try to help me.

 

Greetings from Brazil

 

Gustavo

 

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,540
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

08-30-2012 03:32 AM in reply to: gustavo.c.vasconcellos

Gustavo, 

 

I changed the BAR_EHE (Spain) reinforcement, changing 6mm to 6.3mm, the 12mm to 12,5mm and removed 14mm.

 

Could you send the bar database you modified

 

I looked for the template and bar shape that was the closest to the Brazlian one and chose the Italian (RBCR-039) and changed the tables from Italian to Portuguese language.

 

as well as the template you created please?

 


 



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
gustavo.c.vasconcellos
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

08-30-2012 06:03 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Thank you Artur,

 

attached you find the template and the database. 

 

If you have any suggestion to improve my process, I would appreciate.

 

Thanks again

 

Gustavo

 

PS: I saved the template as dwg because I could not send as dwt (not valid extesion for an attachement message)

 

 

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,540
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

08-31-2012 12:32 AM in reply to: gustavo.c.vasconcellos

Gustavo,

 

Could you send me a sample rtd file where you have drawings of beams and columns please? What is your way of arranging the drawings in ASD after importing them from Robot. Do you copy tem on a single tab?



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,540
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

09-04-2012 01:06 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Gustavo,

 

Any chance to receive the rtd file? :smileyhappy:

 

Thank you.



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
gustavo.c.vasconcellos
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

09-04-2012 06:05 AM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Hi Artur,

 

how can I send the file to you? The zipped file without results is 3.000 KB.

 

Do you have Dropbox? Maybe I can send you a link to a dropbox folder.

 

Thanks

 

Gustavo

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,540
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

09-04-2012 06:18 AM in reply to: gustavo.c.vasconcellos

Do you have the problem you described only for this large file or for any? If for any then create a single beam project and attach it.



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
gustavo.c.vasconcellos
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: I cannot open dwg file exported from Robot

09-08-2012 01:13 PM in reply to: Artur.Kosakowski

Dear Artur,

 

the ASD problems started after I had installed RST 2013 with the Brazil template that comes with the new version (see bellow).

 

In the new Brazilian template the "rebar Bar" is correct, see the left side, but if I check the "Reinforcement bars" in preference, it shows ACI318-08 Rebars(Metric) ... that it is not the same of "Rebar Bar" in the Project Browser.

If I choose another template (not the Brazilian one), ASD works ok, I mean stop crashing all the time.

How can I get the "rebar Bar" family in Revit and use it as database in Robot and ASD?

Remember, my workflow is the following: RST2013 -> Robot 2013 -> ASD or RST2013 -> Robot 2013 ->RST 2013 -> ASD.

 

I like the Brazilian template that comes with Revit 2013 and I would like to keep using it,

 

Please help me!!!

 

BrazilRebar.PNG

Please use plain text.