Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Contributor
rcadzior
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-20-2012

Copying items in RC navigator

307 Views, 4 Replies
01-20-2012 03:00 PM

Dear Sirs;

 

Could you tell me how can I copy defined (item is listed in a navigator) foundation item from one node to others?

Controls with node numbers are block in navigator - why cannot we add node numbers in a simply way instaed of define new item from begining ?

After clicking on any item (right mouse button menu) we can see  "Move selection from/on structure" - how do these options work because I didn't notice any results, there is also no help in a program documentation ?

We have also simple "Edit/Copy, Paste" options - but result is a copy of selected item with empty property cells.

Maybe I do something wrong - please explain how should I do that in a proper way , because I see no sense in that all.

 

Thanks in advance for any help !

 

BR.

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 4,971
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Copying items in RC navigator

01-22-2012 11:44 PM in reply to: rcadzior

If you want to copy reinforcement between elements - you can do it by saving opening rxd file for typical elements.

Otherwise I suggest to use grouping of elements while importing to RC module.

 

kop.jpg



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Contributor
rcadzior
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-20-2012

Re: Copying items in RC navigator

01-23-2012 04:17 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

Dear Rafał;

 

Thanks for your hints - it is a partial solution of course.

 

Let me explain more precisely - I don't want to copy reinforcement which is a result of design and can be easily calculated in seconds.
I wanted to copy a "type of foundation" with its full definition like geometry, soil conditions etc. from one node to the others like a template - not to fill all data from the beginning.

What do you mean by "grouping" objects in Robot?
I selected several nodes (..is it "grouping" meant by you ?) and tranfered them into RC-foundation module, they are shown in a list and its contents cannot be changed manually.

Don't you think it would be better for us to have a possibility to change a list of nodes?
Is there any way to edit it in a present version of Robot  (maybe we don't know about some options which can be unlocked) ?

If not - please find it as a polite request to your programmers :smileywink:

BTW.  When we select exactly two nodes - program asks if we want to define footing under two columns (it was described in the manual). If a number of selected nodes is greater - there is no question displayed

 

BR

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Rafal.Gaweda
Posts: 4,971
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Copying items in RC navigator

01-25-2012 02:47 AM in reply to: rcadzior


Let me explain more precisely - I don't want to copy reinforcement which is a result of design and can be easily calculated in seconds.
I wanted to copy a "type of foundation" with its full definition like geometry, soil conditions etc. from one node to the others like a template - not to fill all data from the beginning.

 

Geometry and some bars settings can be transfered by rxd file :

 

kop.jpg

 

 

Calculation options:

 

calcopt.jpg

 

Reinf pattern:

 

reinfpat.jpg

 

Soil : 

 

soillay.jpg

 


What do you mean by "grouping" objects in Robot?

 

grouping.jpg

 And design will be performed as for one foundation for envelope of forces from selected (grouped) nodes.



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Contributor
rcadzior
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-20-2012

Re: Copying items in RC navigator

01-26-2012 04:08 PM in reply to: Rafal.Gaweda

OK - I tested "grouping"

 

My remarks:

- "According to geometry" works if columns cross-sections are the same - in order to get what I wanted I had to cheat Robot and changed cross-sections for all columns to one common. After Robot had created one foundation for those nodes I changed cross-sections to "original".

-"According to story" groups elements because of elevation of node/column/beam etc.

 

Both options are useful but the most necessary is "user defined" grouping

 

Dear programmers - allow us to define types of foundations for "user defined" set of nodes !

It will be a simple option that will bring more benefit than those built-in "smart" options - which do not work as if I wished (hope others too .... judging from the read posts eg. steel connections).

Please do not treat my words as a criticism - in our common bussiness is to improve this programme (that's why this forum exists I think...) and the most valuable are the remarks of engineers with any design practise. 

 

 

Please use plain text.