Revit Structure

Reply
Mentor
Posts: 185
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 1 of 8 (590 Views)

beam system tags

590 Views, 7 Replies
02-21-2011 10:17 AM

Is there any way to list the number of beams in a beam system tag?  I am working on a project that has lots of different sized systems in it would be nice to have it list the quantity.

Mentor
engr_mondo
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 2 of 8 (580 Views)

Re: beam system tags

02-21-2011 07:52 PM in reply to: haydenwse
Yes, you can abuse RST Schedule feature.
Regards,

Mondo
Mentor
Posts: 185
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 3 of 8 (568 Views)

Re: beam system tags

02-22-2011 08:10 AM in reply to: haydenwse

How do you do it?  I have gone into the family editor for the beam system tag an it doesn't have a parameter for number of beams, count or anything like that.  the number of members shows up in the beams system properties dialog box but I can't find similar info in the tag.

Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-28-2008
Message 4 of 8 (563 Views)

Re: beam system tags

02-22-2011 09:56 AM in reply to: haydenwse

Do you want to show the actual quantity in the Beam Tag?  For example, W10x12 (22), which would denote that you had 22 W10x12's in the project?  

 

 

Mentor
Posts: 185
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 5 of 8 (560 Views)

Re: beam system tags

02-22-2011 10:09 AM in reply to: haydenwse

Yes, that is exactly what I need.  Can it be done?

Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-28-2008
Message 6 of 8 (558 Views)

Re: beam system tags

02-22-2011 11:29 AM in reply to: haydenwse

I meandered about the web at lunch - and found a topic where they created a shared parameter and placed the shared parameter in a tag as part of label.  

 

http://revitclinic.typepad.com/my_weblog/families/

 

and

 

http://www.wonderhowto.com/how-to-create-shared-parameters-revit-architecture-255295/

 

I need to get back to "work" no more exploring the wonderful, wacky world of Revit - but maybe you can cull some wisdom from the videos. :smileyhappy:

 

Mike

Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-28-2008
Message 7 of 8 (535 Views)

Re: beam system tags

02-23-2011 11:03 AM in reply to: yosso

Still not what you want, but I created a shared parameter and added the shared parameter to the beam system tag.  You have to manually enter the quantity in the properties, so it's not auto-magic. :smileyindifferent:

 

Anyway, my Revit "play-time/lunch-time" is over, back to the real world. :smileysad:

 

Good luck.

 

Mike

Mentor
Posts: 185
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 8 of 8 (533 Views)

Re: beam system tags

02-23-2011 11:07 AM in reply to: yosso

i was able to do that as well but it is really frustrating to have a quantity listed in the perameters dialog box and not be able to list it in a tag.  As Charlie Brown would say, AAAAHHHHHH

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube