Revit Structure Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Structure Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Structure topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

beam labelling and automatic schedule key

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
Opel5
2360 Views, 6 Replies

beam labelling and automatic schedule key

Evening All,

I'm trying to deal with a pretty specific task but after many hours scouring google and youtube I'm pretty stumped. I'm new to Revit Structure. I've got an imported steel first floor 2D beam plan in my revit model which currently shows the beam types "203x203x46 UC etc". I need to do 3 things:

1) update the first floor plan, getting Revit to logically sort and update the beam labels from the above steel size into logical beam labels e.g.
B1 = 203x203x46 UC
B2 = 533x210x82 UB
etc.

2) generate (I'm hoping automatically) a logical reference table:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
beam label  |  beam size   |
B1              <beam sizes>|
B2             |                      |
B2             |                      |
etc            |                      |

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

3) create a CAD DWG of this first floor plan incorporating the labelling logic and key table above.

If there is an app or add-in for revit that helps (I have the horrible feeling I'm going to have to do this the hard way but worth checking) please let me know.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! 🙂

Many Thanks,
Scott

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Opel5
in reply to: Opel5

Oh I'm using Revit Structure 2012 by the way if that helps too 🙂

Thanks

Message 3 of 7
Opel5

Hi There,

Well I've investigated creating a beam schedule but it doesn't seem to have any option to connect the schedule table of beams (as sketched above, B1, B2 etc) to the actual beam tags and there seems to be no post on this forum relating to it. Very suprising.