Revit Structure

Reply
Member
nylentim
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-08-2007
Message 1 of 7 (182 Views)

Type Catalog

182 Views, 6 Replies
02-08-2007 01:36 PM
I am trying to add base plates and cap plates to the default steel columns in revit structure. I have copied the HSS-section to a server and made changes there. How can i add the catalog to the new family? i.e. load a 4x4 or 3x3 or 5x5 etc.

I have a type catalog for my baseplates, which works fine.
Member
nylentim
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-08-2007
Message 2 of 7 (182 Views)

Re: Type Catalog

02-08-2007 01:42 PM in reply to: nylentim
Got it,
type catalog names must match the new file name and be located in the same directory
*F. Gump
Message 3 of 7 (182 Views)

Re: Type Catalog

03-07-2007 02:47 PM in reply to: nylentim
>>I am trying to add base plates and cap plates to the default steel columns
>>in revit structure..

I don't think that's a good idea.



wrote in message news:5480368@discussion.autodesk.com...
I am trying to add base plates and cap plates to the default steel columns
in revit structure. I have copied the HSS-section to a server and made
changes there. How can i add the catalog to the new family? i.e. load a
4x4 or 3x3 or 5x5 etc.

I have a type catalog for my baseplates, which works fine.
Employee
Joe.Charpentier
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 4 of 7 (182 Views)

Re: Type Catalog

03-08-2007 04:19 AM in reply to: nylentim
Could you elaborate on why you don't think it's a good idea?

I'm interested in some of the possible problems.

Thanks,
Joe
*Arthur MacLeod
Message 5 of 7 (182 Views)

Re: Type Catalog

03-08-2007 06:25 AM in reply to: nylentim
Maybe I'm misreading the original post. It sounds like he is adding
connection parts to a column family. Why? Wouldn't it be better to have a
more robust set of connection families that would attach to stock columns?
Wouldn't columns with attached base and column plates more appropriately be
made as groups?

Arthur
=========================================================

wrote in message news:5511723@discussion.autodesk.com...
Could you elaborate on why you don't think it's a good idea?

I'm interested in some of the possible problems.

Thanks,
Joe
*F. Gump
Message 6 of 7 (182 Views)

Re: Type Catalog

03-08-2007 09:50 AM in reply to: nylentim
Just because it CAN be done doesn't mean it SHOULD be done.
I guess it depends on your business, but in a structural office I don't
think it is beneficial to model every detail of the structure.
Instead, just detail it.

Example, will you also consider the grout space under the plate? What about
anchor bolts? What will you do when the base plate needs to get wider to
accomodate a diagonal brace attaching to the base of column?
Will your theoretical attachment point change when you add the plate? Will
the analytical model remain joined at that point?

I think you can get carried away with the level of modelling and it won't
really be beneficial to the printed output.



wrote in message news:5511723@discussion.autodesk.com...
Could you elaborate on why you don't think it's a good idea?

I'm interested in some of the possible problems.

Thanks,
Joe
Member
nylentim
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-08-2007
Message 7 of 7 (182 Views)

Re: Type Catalog

03-08-2007 10:59 AM in reply to: nylentim
I made extrusions of base plates and cap plates. The catalog imports the column of choice, and i can input type properties for plate dimensions, which show up in my tag. It works well in plan view since i to input plate dimensions for CDs. For architects that import the structure, it helps to see sizes.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.