Revit Structure

Reply
Member
cdmawson
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-19-2009
Message 1 of 6 (1,111 Views)

Slab Edge Join

1111 Views, 5 Replies
10-19-2009 08:22 PM
Hi,



I'm trying to add a slab edge to a ground floor slab (which is made up of a concrete slab (structure) over hardcore (substrate). The Slab Edge I'm using extends below the concrete line (think of a typical 45 degrees slab edge thickening) to the depth of the substrate. The slab edge has the same material as the concrete slab, but different to that of the substrate.



The problem i have is that Revit will not cut back the substrate to the line of the slab thickening. You actually get an error message saying that the slab edge in totally within another object (obvious!).



Not sure if there is a way around this or is it another wish list?



Any help / work arounds would be appreciated.



Chris
Member
Bevier
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-11-2008
Message 2 of 6 (1,111 Views)

Re: Slab Edge Join

11-05-2009 03:23 PM in reply to: cdmawson
I'm having the same problems. Every building has a foundation - How come I can't figure out (and no one seems to want to answer) how to make this happen?
Active Member
johnsobr
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-02-2008
Message 3 of 6 (1,111 Views)

Re: Slab Edge Join

11-06-2009 06:51 AM in reply to: cdmawson
Instead of including the select fill as a layer in the Foundation Slab, try using a Building Pad or In-Place Family instead. Here are the general steps for the Building Pad methodology:

Create a Toposurface.
Create the Building Pad in the same shape as the Foundation Slab.
Create the Foundation Slab.
Add the Slab Edge thickened edge.
Join Geometry of Foundation Slab and Slab Edge if desired.
Use the Cut Profile tool on the Building Pad to graphically "cut" at the Slab Edge.

Please see the attached image.

Note that the Building Pad cuts the Toposurface to the depth you choose, thus giving a Cut/Fill volume. Set the thickness, depth, and material of the Building Pad to your preference.

The In-place Family methodology would be similar except that you would not explicitly need the Toposurface. In my opinion, the In-place method will take slightly longer to accomplish. However, the In-place method does allow for more flexibility to create complex shapes.
Brian E. Johnson, P.E.
AEC Technical Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
Bevier
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-11-2008
Message 4 of 6 (1,111 Views)

Re: Slab Edge Join

11-06-2009 08:35 AM in reply to: cdmawson
Thank you, I'll give that a try.

I did find that when creating the slab layers, if you call the gravel, sand etc a finish material instead of a substrate, and don't put the vapor barrier in the assembly, the slab edge will join correctly with the slab, cutting out the underlayment.

Now I just have to get that to work for interior footings as well.
Active Member
rnorrish
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-02-2004
Message 5 of 6 (645 Views)

Re: Slab Edge Join

11-07-2012 10:52 PM in reply to: johnsobr

Hi, i'm having trouble cutting the slab edge/slab into the building pad. cut profile tool is now cut geometry 2013

thanks in advance

 

Active Member
rnorrish
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-02-2004
Message 6 of 6 (642 Views)

Re: Slab Edge Join

11-07-2012 11:03 PM in reply to: rnorrish

never mind, found it... under view tab!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube