Revit Structure

Reply
Active Contributor
MIKEFETTKETHER4651
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-05-2008
Message 1 of 7 (222 Views)
Accepted Solution

Label Bay's

222 Views, 6 Replies
10-04-2012 02:18 PM

I'm laying out this huge factory facility in Revit.  Inbetween each column line the bay's are labeled in the factory.  Does anyone know of a good way to label the bay's in Revit? 

 

Revit Structure 2013

 

 

Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 380
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 2 of 7 (204 Views)

Re: Label Bay's

10-08-2012 06:57 AM in reply to: MIKEFETTKETHER4651

I would think regular Text would be the easiest way to label the bays.

 

If the does not work for you, please reply with more information about what you are trying to do so that we can provide a better answer.



Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Active Contributor
MIKEFETTKETHER4651
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-05-2008
Message 3 of 7 (186 Views)

Re: Label Bay's

10-10-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: MIKEFETTKETHER4651

I'm looking for something that when I'm zoomed into a specific area I can tell which Bay I'm currently in without referencing the column grid or zooming out to the full plan view.  The only think I could think of would be to place rooms for each bay.  With rooms I should be able to find in view from a schedule.  Can anyone else think of a better idea?

Active Contributor
5kings
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎09-27-2012
Message 4 of 7 (180 Views)

Re: Label Bay's

10-11-2012 03:04 AM in reply to: MIKEFETTKETHER4651

Maybe a transparant detail item which van be tagged ? Or a genereic model without 3d data, only with some lines for example. This one can be r4ead in schedules.

Just some ideas.

 

Regards, Jordi

Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 380
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 5 of 7 (162 Views)

Re: Label Bay's

10-15-2012 12:18 PM in reply to: MIKEFETTKETHER4651

Room Elements would be a good option, as they flow to fill the area, and can be tagged and scheduled. However, they'd all have the same fill pattern, so it may be hard to differentiate visually. A detail element may work, but depending on how many different bays you have, you may end up with a large number of them.



Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic
Active Contributor
MIKEFETTKETHER4651
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-05-2008
Message 6 of 7 (156 Views)

Re: Label Bay's

10-15-2012 01:21 PM in reply to: MIKEFETTKETHER4651

I would love to try the Room's options, but I only have Revit Structure.  It does not look like I have the option to create rooms unless you have the Architectural version.  So I will probably have to do something else like the option you suggested. 

 

Mike

Product Support
Chris.Aquino
Posts: 380
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
Message 7 of 7 (150 Views)

Re: Label Bay's

10-15-2012 01:43 PM in reply to: MIKEFETTKETHER4651

As room elements, the detail elements are probably your best bet.



Chris Aquino
Technical Support Specialist
Customer Service & Support
Autodesk, Inc.


The Revit Clinic
@Revitclinic

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube