Revit Structure

Reply
New Member
wbragg
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-31-2011
Message 1 of 4 (11,969 Views)

How to set halftone elements to plot behind blackline elements?

11969 Views, 3 Replies
08-31-2011 02:04 PM

For Revit Structure 2012.  I have asked coworkers and searched the discussion groups and cannot see a solution.  A DWG file is linked to the Revit model with black+white setting.  In the "VG" dialog, the DWG layers are expanded but selecting halftone for individual layers is not allowed (the column is grayed out), so the layer color is set to RGB 192-192-192 to mimic halftone.  Other layers, however, are unchanged so they can print black.  When printing, the "black elements" are partially obscured by the "gray elements."  There is no print order setting to "move" the gray elements behind the black elements.  How can halftone elements be set to a lower printing priority than black elements?  In MicroStation V8i, there are priority settings for reference files and for elements.

Member
edwinguerra
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 2 of 4 (11,963 Views)

Re: How to set halftone elements to plot behind blackline elements?

08-31-2011 05:26 PM in reply to: wbragg

Select the DWG, then change the Draw Layer in the Properties to Background.

 

DrawLayer.jpg

 

Regards,

 

Edwin Guerra

http://www.bimblog.ca/

New Member
wbragg
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-31-2011
Message 3 of 4 (11,938 Views)

Re: How to set halftone elements to plot behind blackline elements?

09-07-2011 05:27 AM in reply to: edwinguerra

The background/foreground setting is all-or-none and would not be helpful since some layers in the imported DWG need to be printed in half-tone and others in black.  The "VG" dialog does not allow individual layers to be set as half-tone.  As a work-around, importing the DWG twice probably can be done with one instance being the half-tone version and the other instance being the black version once the layer displays are checked/unchecked as needed.  We are trying to "package" outside non-Revit consultants' DWGs into our Revit models to help with printing.

 

Sincerely yours,

Wilbur C. Bragg, II, PE, CDT

Rosser International, Inc.

Atlanta, GA

www.rosser.com

Contributor
brendonclark
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 4 of 4 (11,860 Views)

Re: How to set halftone elements to plot behind blackline elements?

10-06-2011 02:33 AM in reply to: edwinguerra

"Draw layer" is not in my properties box.... what am i missing?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube