Revit Structure

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
PatrickEC
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 1 of 4 (155 Views)

How to display/identify constraints when editing floor boundary?

155 Views, 3 Replies
10-17-2012 03:48 PM

I am editing the floor boundary and there are constraints on some of the sketch lines. I am wondering why I am not seeing padlock icons and how to identify to which element any particular sketch line is constraint.

 

Video: http://screencast.com/t/Ripy7KJ4

 

 

How_to_display-identify_constraints_when_editing_floor_boundary.png

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,026
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 2 of 4 (135 Views)

Re: How to display/identify constraints when editing floor boundary?

10-22-2012 08:58 AM in reply to: PatrickEC

Just curious here -- would switching to one of the plan views make a difference when editing the slab?

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Valued Contributor
gguevarra
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 3 of 4 (119 Views)

Re: How to display/identify constraints when editing floor boundary?

10-23-2012 10:40 AM in reply to: PatrickEC

I don't believe switching to a plan view will make a difference. My guess is that there is something else in the model that is locking the floor boundary in its place. For example, there could be a dimension from the floor edge to a grid that is locked, or an element that the floor edge is aligned and locked to. When editing the boundary of the floor, the padlocks from those external constraints don't show up. To try and identify what is providing the constraint, try getting out of the Edit Floor Boundary command and selecting the floor. It should highlight any padlocks that apply to the floor.

Distinguished Contributor
PatrickEC
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 4 of 4 (110 Views)

Re: How to display/identify constraints when editing floor boundary?

10-24-2012 10:52 AM in reply to: gguevarra

Thank you for your posts, I don't seem to be aple recreate this issue, so maybe that was just a glitch.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube