Revit Structure Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Structure Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Structure topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help needed :Information on collaboration technologies for structural engineers

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
Anonymous
250 Views, 1 Reply

Help needed :Information on collaboration technologies for structural engineers

I am a student in a Construction Management and Engineering course I have been given a project as described below please could any structural engineers share any information that they think could be useful.
I am required to consider the Structural Engineer, with specific reference to their role in the construction process; information required and generated by them (including type and format); their communication with other parties to the construction process; current use of Information collaboration Technology (ICT); and recommendations for the use of new and/or emerging ICT.
1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
KSI_Thor
in reply to: Anonymous

There is one thing you need to know about ICT from the engineers point of view. Contractors are requesting much more information from engineers up front on a project that, in my opinion, is getting into means and methods. Contractors are now given more information for material take-offs, scheduling and constructability which enables them to be more efficient. All of this can be attributed to a single deliverable model. We, the architects and engineers, have basically simulated the construction of the project electronically. All this information helps to drive down the construction time and reduces RFI's.