Revit Structure

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 1 of 7 (702 Views)
Accepted Solution

Curved Beams

702 Views, 6 Replies
01-09-2013 07:39 AM

Hello All

 

I need some help as I have never done this before.

 

I  was wondering if you someone could tell me how to create a curved beam in either section or elevation. I was reading someone created one along a path but I don't know how to do that. I am using RST 2012. I am hoping that someone can guide me in the right direction. The architect has is shown on their drawings but this all new territory to me.

 

All help and suggestions welcome.

 

Regards

 

Kevin

Kevin
Using Revit Structure 2012, 2013, 2014
I think I am getting the hang of this revit stuff
Employee
Joe.Charpentier
Posts: 937
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 2 of 7 (696 Views)

Re: Curved Beams

01-09-2013 11:53 AM in reply to: kevms

Start the beam tool. In the ribbon (close to the right), there is a box with a bunch of different lines called the "Draw Gallery".

Note that the default is a straight line.

Chose one of the curves, and start sketching.

 

To create a vertically curved beam, switch to an elevation or section view, and do the same.

 

Joe

New Member
DRamirez
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Message 3 of 7 (664 Views)

Re: Curved Beams

01-10-2013 02:33 PM in reply to: kevms

If the architect already has them in their model, and it is linked into your model.  Couldn't you try Copy-monitor?  Or you can copy and paste to same place.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 4 of 7 (619 Views)

Re: Curved Beams

01-11-2013 06:06 AM in reply to: Joe.Charpentier

Hi, the first time and several times after that, the arc option in the draw gallery would not be available for some reason. after kicking my computer and work on something else for a while. it seemed to become available and was able to draw the beam on a arc. (mental note: make sure you have a reference plan to draw on)

 

Thanks Joe

 

Regards,

 

Kevin

Kevin
Using Revit Structure 2012, 2013, 2014
I think I am getting the hang of this revit stuff
Valued Contributor
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 5 of 7 (617 Views)

Re: Curved Beams

01-11-2013 06:09 AM in reply to: DRamirez

DRamirezSSA

 

That thought never occured to me. Even though I have already drawn the framing, I am going go back and give the copy/monitor option a try. thanks.

 

Regards

 

Kevin

Kevin
Using Revit Structure 2012, 2013, 2014
I think I am getting the hang of this revit stuff
New Member
DRamirez
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Message 6 of 7 (614 Views)

Re: Curved Beams

01-11-2013 06:16 AM in reply to: kevms

Giving it some further thought, I am not certain if you can copy-monitor them in.  But you can copy-paste for sure, when you select the link tab through to get the beam(s) you want and past to same place.  There are only certain items you can bring in with copy-monitor feature

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-15-2013
Message 7 of 7 (347 Views)

Re: Curved Beams

09-16-2013 08:34 PM in reply to: DRamirez

Hello everybody,

When i transfer my model from RS to RSAP, my curve beams are divided too small, is there any way to change the division? Please show me!

Thanks

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube