Revit Structure Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Structure Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Structure topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A Revit Architect re-using Revit Structural objects: is this really possible

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
helsinki_dave
630 Views, 4 Replies

A Revit Architect re-using Revit Structural objects: is this really possible

Hi,

How do Revit architects re-use the structural engineers Revit model?

For example, do they re-use the .rvt objects that the engineer creates (linking etc), then use face-based architectural families to apply surfaces to structural floors, wall and columns - or not?

Do architects just remodel everything after the engineer has updated his Revit model and published - like they say - faster to redraw than modify the existing!

I'm an ACAD veteran, so the thought of re-modelling what the engineer has already modeled is not so appealing!

I suspect the problem is in the layers in compound objects. Simply put, the engineers wall is 'inside' my wall, but Revit doesn't really recognize this parametrically through the linking process (unless I use face-based families right?)

Thanks in advance!
Dav

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
alb01
in reply to: helsinki_dave

try exploring the copy/monitor process from within the collaborate menu. instead of re-modelling, you should be able to copy the wall and change the type if needed. i am not entirly sure how the process works but it may be a start.

Message 3 of 5
lashmail
in reply to: alb01

Hi Alb01, many thanks for your reply.

Thanks for the thought - Copy / Monitor is the (only) way to keep track of linked data , quite true. What does remain unlcear however is while we may copy through some elements to our architectural model - most we will only reference.