Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

revit mep family type parameter not resizing uniformly

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
battousai11
1011 Views, 8 Replies

revit mep family type parameter not resizing uniformly

Hi,

I'm new to Revit MEP and a a parametric extrusion by setting the parameters for depth, width and height and have separations on the front face of tm using MEP 2011 to construct families for an electrical distribution panel.  I madehe box drawn with model lines.  Whenever I resize the height parameter, only the top part of the box resizes, keeping the rest of the separations the same size.

Is there a way to make Revit resize these separations uniformly?  I tried using the equal dimension, but then it would just resize somwhere else and keep the ones I had the equality on the same.  I also tried locking various dimensions, but it would just resize somewhere else.

Any help would be appreciated.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

For the benfit of us reading your posts, could you either post some screenshots or the fmaily for us to look at as it could be many things.

Initial ideas though are:-

• Are you using reference lines and/or planes to control the geometry?
  • Are you dimensioning bewteen these reference elements and then locking the other geometric elements to these reference lines/planes?
  • Have made a NAMED reference plane for the top geometry and assigned the lines to this reference plane then assigned dimensions to between this plane and another?
  • Have you pinned the main axis reference planes and set the dimensions so that all movement in the family stems from the pinned reference planes. Otherwise objects move when they shouldn't?