Revit MEP

Reply
Contributor
tsk001
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-19-2007
Message 1 of 5 (319 Views)
Accepted Solution

Wire breaking over detail lines

319 Views, 4 Replies
10-10-2013 01:59 PM

When I manually put wires on my plans, they gap when they cross over detail lines from the background. It is usually casework, furniture, etc. that the Architect has made with detail lines. How do I get this to stop?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,166
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 5 (277 Views)

Re: Wire breaking over detail lines

10-14-2013 06:01 AM in reply to: tsk001

I do not believe that there is any direct way to stop without either disable the wire gaps entirely or by not showing the architect's Detail Lines. MEP Models are commonly created as separate Revit Project Files with the Architectural file Linked, which would also evade this issue.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Contributor
thewrz
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎06-08-2009
Message 3 of 5 (269 Views)

Re: Wire breaking over detail lines

10-14-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: tsk001

Check the following:

 

1. Is the architectual elements modeled in the same file, or it linked in? If linked in, make sure that the Revit link is set to "Underlay" in visibility graphics.

 

2. Is the view you're drawing your wires in an "Electrical" discipline view or is it "Coordination"? Make sure it's "Electrical"

 

3. If it's ALL in the same model... well... not sure if I can help you there since I have no experience modeling MEP elements side-by-side with Architectual elements :smileyhappy:

____________________________________________________
Please give kudos to the MEP Wish List ideas you like, as this will help the Revit development team prioritize functionality additions!
Contributor
tsk001
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-19-2007
Message 4 of 5 (251 Views)

Re: Wire breaking over detail lines

10-15-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: thewrz

1. Revit link is set to underlay.

 

2. Wires are drawn in Electrical disipline.

 

This is baffleing me. All my lighting sheets look great, the lines do not break when they cross an architectural detail line.

It is only on my electrical sheets. It has to be a setting that differs between my lighting and electrical templates.

Contributor
tsk001
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-19-2007
Message 5 of 5 (245 Views)

Re: Wire breaking over detail lines

10-15-2013 09:31 AM in reply to: tsk001

I think I found a solution:

 

In the Electrical Settings under Hidden Lines - uncheck draw MEP hidden lines and change line style to thin lines.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube