Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upside down lighting fixtures

34 REPLIES 34
SOLVED
Message 1 of 35
tschau3
31068 Views, 34 Replies

Upside down lighting fixtures

Would anyone know why my lighting fixtures are coming in upside down and is there a way to flip them over?  I'm brand new to Revit MEP and am hoping there is just a setting I'm missing.  Even the little preview in properties shows the fixture upside down.  Any help would be appreciated.  Many thanks...

34 REPLIES 34
Message 2 of 35
LukeRamirez
in reply to: tschau3

Where did you get the file?  Sometimes family files are just created incorrectly.  I've experienced this with some HVAC and plumbing families.  You might have to edit the family to see if you can fix it, or just find a new one that works. 

Also, check to make sure that the plane you're defining for placement is the one you want. 

good luck and patience (the Revit mantra) 🙂

-Luke

Message 3 of 35
tschau3
in reply to: LukeRamirez

I got it worked out.  I used the "Place on workplane" option and then used the "#" button to flip the fixture.  Thanks for the reply though!

Message 4 of 35
LukeRamirez

Glad you got it worked out.  So the "#" key will flip a fixture?  Good to know! 

Thanks,

Luke

Message 5 of 35
ltuss

The fixture is modeled upside down for placement in a reflecting ceiling plan.  Place on face hosting will flip the fixture to the correct orientation in the Ceiling Plan. Without using the reflected Ceiling Plan the best method is in an elevation view draw a reference plane from RIGHT to LEFT and name it and set the elevation. Then in plan view you can select Place on work plane select the plane you just named and the fixtures will orient correctly. The fixtures hosted to this plane will move together if the elevation changes.

Message 6 of 35
ree.espinoza