Revit MEP

Reply
Active Contributor
bashworth
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-21-2006
Message 1 of 3 (280 Views)
Accepted Solution

URL Parameter based on family type

280 Views, 2 Replies
01-23-2013 12:02 PM

Not sure if this is something wonky on my system, or if it's a shortcoming of this parameter type.

 

To set the scene, we have one piece of equipment, that has 6 different configurations available.  Each configuration has it's own model number, and catalog page on our company website.

 

I created a family for this equipment, and added the URL to the catalog as an instance parameter.  For each family type, this is a different value, since it goes to a different portion of the website.  I also have several other parameters of various types, that change value based on family type.

 

They all work just fine in the family editor.  I can switch between the different family types at will, and see the URL for the catalog change correctly, along with the model number, schedule values, comments, etc.

 

When the family is inserted into a project though, everything BUT the URL parameter works.  The URL still shows, but it only ever shows the first link I entered in for the first type I created.  All other parameters switch correctly.

 

I searched around, but couldnt' find anything about this being a limitation of the URL parameter type.  Is it one, or is my Revit just busted?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,168
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 3 (272 Views)

Re: URL Parameter based on family type

01-23-2013 12:26 PM in reply to: bashworth

I quickly tested this Revit MEP 2013 (Update 2) with a couple random URL's with a catalog, and it worked as expected. Are you using this version with the current updates? Can you post your family and catalog file for us to investigate?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Contributor
bashworth
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-21-2006
Message 3 of 3 (241 Views)

Re: URL Parameter based on family type

01-24-2013 09:04 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thank you for your time on this.  Looks like it just needed some time in the corner to sit and think about what it had done.  Working correctly today.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube