Revit MEP

Reply
Contributor
lotta.johannesson
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-14-2010
Message 1 of 3 (325 Views)
Accepted Solution

Self Adjusting RME Families?

325 Views, 2 Replies
02-24-2011 03:45 AM

Hello!

I have a family creation problem that I never seem to understand. In Revit MEP's own library there are some components that adjust itself according to the host - a duct f.ex.

 

How can I create theese families on my own? What is it that makes them self adjust?

Is it the parameter flow configuration? In Revit they are set to global, if I do the same and don't get the same result.

Should I have a txt-file (the RME families don't have it). I think I have tried everything.

 

Do anyone have an answer? I would be so happy!

 

Thx, Lotta

*****
Fell in love with Revit in 2008.

Don't forget: Kudos and Solutions!
Valued Mentor
julianjameson8403
Posts: 457
Registered: ‎06-16-2010
Message 2 of 3 (321 Views)

Re: Self Adjusting RME Families?

02-24-2011 05:21 AM in reply to: lotta.johannesson

I think that the main reason is:-

 

The size parameters linked to the connectors have their Discipline set to either Piping or HVAC and their type of parameter set to either Pipe Size or Duct Size (respectively).

 

Try making a rectangular box (as a pretend Attenuator) with L, W, H parameters and add parameters to the dimensions. However rather than making the W & H parameters normal length types, make them as listed above. Don't forget to make the family category "Duct Accessory" and the Part Type "Breaks Into". That should work fine.

 

Another aspect which may influence this is what Part Type is selected in the Family Category.

 

The text file used by some RME families is a catalogue and is just another way of containing all the values used by the parameters to determine the sizes in the families and their types. I allows you to only load a selected number of family types rather than loading ecery type contained in a family if the dimensions use look-up tables, etc.

If my reply answers your query, please use the Accept as Solution.
Please give Kudos as appropriate to enhance the value of these forums.

Thank you!
Contributor
lotta.johannesson
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-14-2010
Message 3 of 3 (268 Views)

Re: Self Adjusting RME Families?

02-25-2011 07:29 AM in reply to: julianjameson8403

Thank you so much for your quick replay. I'll try this at once...on monday :smileyhappy:

 

//Lotta

*****
Fell in love with Revit in 2008.

Don't forget: Kudos and Solutions!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube