Revit MEP

Reply
Member
Rick21462
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 1 of 5 (305 Views)

REVIT hOST

305 Views, 4 Replies
10-16-2012 01:15 PM

i'M TRYING TO PLACE AN OUTLET AND IT KEEPS TELLING ME

Couldn't find an appropriate Host.  Try selecting a different Host Face or switch Placement Mode.

Can someone help out.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 2,941
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 5 (299 Views)

Re: REVIT hOST

10-16-2012 01:24 PM in reply to: Rick21462

We'll need a little more information, first - Is the architecture 'drawn' in your model or is it linked in from a separate model?

Are you using an "Out Of The Box" Family? If so, did you load in the family from the MEP folder or the Architectural folder?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
Rick21462
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 3 of 5 (298 Views)

Re: REVIT hOST

10-16-2012 01:26 PM in reply to: CADastrophe
Thanks for responding back. It's a separate model I Uploaded the family from the MEP folder email LOGO Rick Passarella 200 South Wacker Dr Suite 3100 Chicago Il 60606
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 2,941
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 5 (288 Views)

Re: REVIT hOST

10-16-2012 01:41 PM in reply to: Rick21462

One of the most common problems encountered is that the Family is "Wall-Hosted" which means that it will specifically require a Wall element to host to. The problem with that is, an imported link is NOT treated as a Wall. For this reason, all of the MEP elements are "Face-Based".

 

To check to see if this is indeed the cause, located the outlet family in the Project Browser, right-click on it, and select 'Edit Family'. This will open up the family definition, most likely in a 3D View. Select the "wall" that the outlet is hosted to, and at the top of the Properties Palette, does it read "Other (1)" or "Walls (1)" in the Type Selector? (see image) It should say "Other" if it's a face-based family.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Member
Rick21462
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-06-2011
Message 5 of 5 (284 Views)

Re: REVIT hOST

10-16-2012 01:46 PM in reply to: CADastrophe
Thanks I'll try that email LOGO Rick Passarella 200 South Wacker Dr Suite 3100 Chicago Il 60606

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube