Revit MEP

Reply
Mentor
bvanallen
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎07-11-2007
Message 1 of 8 (362 Views)

Placing Components

362 Views, 7 Replies
02-29-2012 01:49 PM

Anyone, please help. I am trying to re-create a ceiling based family using a generic model face based, but get stuck when inserting the ceiling based family as a component. (which I understand is how I'm supposed to do it- No?)

 

Heres what I'm doing; I created a new family from the generic face based model. Defined the family category for Lighting Fixtures, added Family Type dimension constraints (for length, width, & depth), verified the reference level is good, set up additional reference planes, and created a void for the fixture. Next I loaded the existing ceiling based family into my new family. If I'm in the floor plan ref. level I can't see the ceiling family getting inserted. If I'm in the 3d view I can see it automatically get placed exactly where I want it but everything is grayed out and I can't select anything in the view. I do get the Modify/Place component ribbon (in green), but only the Mode tab is green with Load Family being the only option I can select. If I click on anything else the component command cancels out. If I click load family I can re-load the same family file then I get the pop-up to specify types. I select all types available (or just one) and click ok which takes me right back to load family again- still with no other options. What do I need to do next in order to confirm the component placement? Shouldn't there be another tab I'm missing that would allow me to confirm or cancel the component placement? Attached is a screen shot of what I'm getting. I've also checked the above steps on another install in our office and got the same problem result.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 8 (345 Views)

Re: Placing Components

03-01-2012 08:04 AM in reply to: bvanallen

Number one - if you have a Ceiling-Based family, there is a method to converting it to a Face Based family: Change Family Host Type.

Extrusion visibility is controlled by one of two parameters (aside from category). One is simply the Visibility checkbox under the extrusion's properties. The second is the Visibility/Graphics Overrides under the extrusion's properties. Click the "Edit..." button and you will see the conditions under which the extrusion will be visible once the family is loaded into a Project or another family.

 

For the other issues, you may have to post your Family file for us to take a peek at its settings and parameters.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Contributor
thewrz
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎06-08-2009
Message 3 of 8 (337 Views)

Re: Placing Components

03-01-2012 01:17 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

It'd be nice if we could just sticky a thread on how to convert Wall/Ceiling/Floor based families into Face based.

 

Mods, sticky? This question comes up all the time.

____________________________________________________
Please give kudos to the MEP Wish List ideas you like, as this will help the Revit development team prioritize functionality additions!
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 8 (332 Views)

Re: Placing Components

03-01-2012 01:39 PM in reply to: thewrz

Yep. A sticky message might be nice, but not as nice as if Autodesk would make a simple function for this in Revit 2013. The functionality is right there in Copy/Monitor! How difficult could it be to isolate this function?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
bvanallen
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎07-11-2007
Message 5 of 8 (302 Views)

Re: Placing Components

03-05-2012 05:17 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Ok, I tired the other import dummy project method posted above and it did work for that one type only. However, I did loose the 12 or so other types that were defined in that family so I had to revert back to the original. Any other methods I can try?

 

 

Also, I'm still not sure why I can't finish the component command. I checked my visibility is checked on. I've attached the original family as requested. I'm only trying to load it into a generic face based family template using the component command, but still can't finish the command. Any ideas why?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 8 (296 Views)

Re: Placing Components

03-05-2012 07:13 AM in reply to: bvanallen

With the family in question, you choose from a list of Types to select upon loading the family into a Project. If you Copy/Monitor the family and then save it somewhere, place the .txt file in the same location. Note that the files must be named identically, so the ".0001" prevents this from working.

 

You cannot use the ceiling-based family as a component because it still requires a ceiling to host to, even within another family.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
bvanallen
Posts: 191
Registered: ‎07-11-2007
Message 7 of 8 (289 Views)

Re: Placing Components

03-05-2012 09:08 AM in reply to: bvanallen

Strange; I was trying to get it to work and switched to my second screen to type an email reply I had open, but hadn't clicked in my second screen. I was still in Revit, and accidentally started to typing while the the place component was still active (when the fixture showed up on the face, grayed out, but with no way to confirm it) and it actually accepted the fixture and inserted it onto the face. I saved over the original (not the .001) and it will now insert on a face. Unfortunately I couldn't get it to work again but at least I now know it is definetly possible and will work as expected. Now I just have to firgure out how to repeat it.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 8 (280 Views)

Re: Placing Components

03-05-2012 01:13 PM in reply to: bvanallen

I couldn't find what would've caused it to do that. It must be a Revit Miracle! Enjoy it while you can, those are few and far between. If you do happen upon the cause, please post.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube