Revit MEP

Reply
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 1 of 9 (448 Views)

My Favorite Error Message

448 Views, 8 Replies
01-13-2012 08:06 AM

My Friend.JPG

 

This has got to be one of the most annoying errors in Revit, if not in the world. I am drawing an annotation symbol and have hit this error at least 15,000 times. Now I have found that the error isn't even consistent, much like other aspects of Revit. I just move a group of lines 3/64" down with no error, and without changing anything else (including zoom), I move the same lines 3/64" up and hit the error. And this is typing in the distance and with no constraints. Might anyone know the story behind this magnificent error?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
abulla
Posts: 342
Registered: ‎10-14-2008
Message 2 of 9 (444 Views)

Re: My Favorite Error Message

01-13-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

It's infuriating isn't it? I have tons of Annotation Symbols that are fairly small that I haven't been able to create because of that error. Whee!

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 3 of 9 (441 Views)

Re: My Favorite Error Message

01-13-2012 08:28 AM in reply to: abulla

Actually, you can get very microscopic lines using the trim command correctly. It is still a pain, though.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Mentor
Jrobker
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 4 of 9 (432 Views)

Re: My Favorite Error Message

01-13-2012 09:41 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

It is annoying, especially when it comes to schematics or details, but nothing for us in plan. We can't even accurately detail our company logo because of the "too small" error.

 

However this behavior is intended. Revit prevents you from accidentally drawing the element, typically a wall, reference plane, or line, if it is less than 1mm (1/32) on the screen.

 

No idea why. I think they are just taking intentional credit, because there really is no other excuse.

 

FWIW, I tested the 3/64 moves you described and had no problems.

"It's hardware that makes a machine fast. It's software that makes a fast machine slow."

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 5 of 9 (425 Views)

Re: My Favorite Error Message

01-13-2012 10:02 AM in reply to: Jrobker

I've never had it give me an error when moving something back before. I don't know what made it happen now.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 9 (422 Views)

Re: My Favorite Error Message

01-13-2012 10:07 AM in reply to: Jrobker

Revit apparently didn't like that post. While it was loading it jumped behind my internet browser just as I clicked and it happen to hit right onto the "Mark as a Solution" button. Nice.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Mentor
Jrobker
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 7 of 9 (415 Views)

Re: My Favorite Error Message

01-13-2012 10:12 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

CADastrophe wrote:

 I don't know what made it happen now.


I do.

It's the overall inconsistencies of Revit. How many times have you done something, than did it again and it wouldn't work, than you try it 23 more time and it works on the 24, doing nothing different other than swearing and wasting time.

I am completely serious. This program has a mind of it's own and every project is different. There are no explanations.

"It's hardware that makes a machine fast. It's software that makes a fast machine slow."

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 9 (365 Views)

Re: My Favorite Error Message

01-18-2012 06:59 AM in reply to: Jrobker

When drawing a line or moving objects, if the cursor is a Ø symbol then error is prompted. Even if you are typing in the length or distance, and no matter how long you input, if the cursor is that symbol it will always result in the error. You can move objects as little as say, 1/1024", so long as you move the mouse cursor far enough away so it does not have the Ø symbol before inputting the value. Knowing this makes it much easier to draw.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Mentor
Jrobker
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 9 of 9 (361 Views)

Re: My Favorite Error Message

01-18-2012 08:28 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thats a great tip. Thanks for the post. I never noticed that.

"It's hardware that makes a machine fast. It's software that makes a fast machine slow."

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube