Revit MEP

Reply
New Member
stait
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-19-2012
Message 1 of 4 (194 Views)

Installing Equipment that needs to be attached to a link

194 Views, 3 Replies
10-19-2012 10:39 AM

I am working in Revit MEP 2012. I am trying to install an exterior wall hydrant on my domestic water system. The family I brought in needs to be attached to a wall. All of the walls in this project are in an architectural file that I have linked in. How can I get around this problem?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,155
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 4 (191 Views)

Re: Installing Equipment that needs to be attached to a link

10-19-2012 11:05 AM in reply to: stait

Revit doesn't 'see' "Walls" from a Linked file, so you'll have to convert the Wall-Hosted families to Face-Based families.

 

Refer to this previous thread: Change Family Host Type

 

 

 

⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗
Welcome to the Autodesk forums, stait!
Feel free to post any questions you may have! There are many experienced users here who generously contribute their time and effort to supporting
their peers. This is an open, peer-supported forum, so feel free to contribute any useful information or experiences to any of the topics you see here.
We hope you'll stick around a while and help strengthen the value of this community!
───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Be sure to review the Ground Rules, visit the FAQ Forum, and use the Search feature prior to posting a question, as it's likely been asked before.
⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗⸗

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
New Member
stait
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-19-2012
Message 3 of 4 (188 Views)

Re: Installing Equipment that needs to be attached to a link

10-19-2012 11:11 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

How does one go about doing this? Its something that will occur in numerous places throughout my drawings, I am hoping that I can resolve all of these with one operation

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,155
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 4 (183 Views)

Re: Installing Equipment that needs to be attached to a link

10-19-2012 11:33 AM in reply to: stait

Unfortunately, there no easy way to do this. The best you can do is create a new Project and load in the Wall-Hosted Families (or use 'Transfer Project Standards' on the Manage tab) and then place one instance of each Type on a wall. You should be able to follow that process to convert them all pretty quickly using Copy/Monitor.

 

Following the Copy/Monitor step, if you have a lot of Families/Types to extract, you can go to the application menu (the big 'R') » Saveas » Library » Families to export all of them at once**. That will place them all in the same folder so you can load them all into your Project at once, as well.

 

**Note : this will export ALL families, including Annotations and Fittings, so I recommend using the Purge All command prior to the Saveas step.

 

Edit: The Transfer Project Standards method won't work - it doesn't transfer Families.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube