Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Importing dependent floor plans

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
derekanderson
863 Views, 3 Replies

Importing dependent floor plans

Hi all,

I'm a security electronics consultant working with an architect on a project.  The architect sent me their revit architecture model.  I have Revit 2013.  I purged their model and saved it as a Link.rvt.  I created a new revit project and deleted all default elevations in the new project.  I then linked in the architect's model and then copy/monitored their default elevation levels.  Then I "imported" the floor plans from the link file.  However, it only brought in the "root" floor plans for each level from the Link file.  The architect had a lot of dependent floor plans.  Their project browser looks like this

Level 1 Key Plan

- Admin floor plan

- housing floor plan

- housing 2 floor plan

- etc

Is there any way I can also import all of the depending floor plans?  Or do I have to waste time recreating every single floor plan that the architect already spent their time creating??

I'm kind of new to Revit, know just enough to be dangerous, but this software sucks for us consultants.  Absolutely terrible software.  It's SLOW as molasses and I have a 5.0 GHZ i7 4k series computer with 32GB of ram.  And nothing in Revit seems intuitive, everything is convoluted and terribly difficult to get the output that you want.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
CoreyDaun
in reply to: derekanderson

Hi derek,

Can you please elaborate on how you "imported" the Floor Plans from the Linked file?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User