Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I create 2- and 3-pole loads?

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Salchipapa
4130 Views, 3 Replies

How do I create 2- and 3-pole loads?

Hello,

I'm a complete Revit newbie and I'm trying to get my bearings.  I think I've figured out how to create lighting circuits, panel schedules, etc., but I'm doing all of this with single-pole loads.  I want to add a 2-pole or 3-pole load to my project (say, a clothes dryer) just to keep experimenting, but I cannot figure it out.  I thought there would have been a family of sorts with 208V single-phase specialty receptacles or something, but it doesn't look like this is the case.

I'd appreciate any help.  Thanks.

p.s.  I'm running Revit 2013

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
CoreyDaun
in reply to: Salchipapa

Electrical Circuits are defined by the properties of the Electrical Connector within a Family (see image below). If you open or create a Family with an Electrical Connector, you can define the Poles, Voltage, etc. Under that connector's Properties. Then, when an Electrical Circuit is created in a Revit Project, it's electrical data will be defined by these values.

Additionally, if you desire to have more flexibility with the values, you can create Parameters which will allow you to have different electrical Data for different Types or Instances of this Family. The properties of the Electrical Connector can then be linked to these Parameter values. Parameters are easy to create - click on the little gray box beside a parameter under Properties. In this dialog, you can simple click "Add Parameter..." to create a new Parameter of the correct Type. Alternatively, you can go to Family Types (button of the left side of the Ribbon with four blue squares) and add new Parameters and Types.

ElectricalConnector.JPG