Revit MEP

Reply
Valued Contributor
%4seasons%
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎04-07-2011
Message 1 of 8 (431 Views)
Accepted Solution

Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

431 Views, 7 Replies
08-22-2013 08:17 AM

Is it possible to provide hatch/fill to flex duct (as attached)?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,137
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 8 (427 Views)

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

08-22-2013 08:45 AM in reply to: %4seasons%

Not directly, but it can be done by adding Duct Insulation to it and then targeting that with a View Filter. I created a new Type of Duct Insulation, called "Flex Hatch". When I applied it, I set the thickness to a minute size. If needed, Schedules can exclude this by filtering out this particular Type of Duct Insulation.

 

FlexDuctHatch.JPG

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Contributor
%4seasons%
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎04-07-2011
Message 3 of 8 (326 Views)

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

08-28-2013 05:33 AM in reply to: CADastrophe
Hi Corey,

Is it possible to add insulation to flex duct as a default?
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,137
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 8 (322 Views)

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

08-28-2013 05:55 AM in reply to: %4seasons%

I don't think that's possible, unfortunately.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Contributor
Mehdi.Kardehi
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎01-20-2014
Message 5 of 8 (202 Views)

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

04-07-2014 06:14 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Hi Corey,

 

I just came to the same issue..

 

I made a fiter for flex ducts by selecting flex ducts and defining pattern as attached...

 

Could you please explain why it doesnt work? I am trying to make it work without adding isulation to the flex.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,137
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 8 (177 Views)

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

04-08-2014 06:20 AM in reply to: Mehdi.Kardehi

On a Plan View, Flex Duct is not represented by actual geometry, but rather a symbolic Flex Pattern, so there is simply no visible surface to inherit the Surface Hatch Pattern. However, the Insulation placed upon Flex Duct is represented by actual geometry, hence this work-around.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Contributor
Mehdi.Kardehi
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎01-20-2014
Message 7 of 8 (139 Views)

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

04-15-2014 08:48 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Hey Correy,

 

What pattern have you used to achieve above hexagonal look? I dont have it in mine and cant make it using pattern creators like http://www.revitlog.nl/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=382:revithatchbuilder-englisch&c...

 

 

Cheers,

M

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,137
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 8 (128 Views)

Re: Flex Duct Hatch/Fill

04-16-2014 05:17 AM in reply to: Mehdi.Kardehi

One can set the "Flex Pattern" of a segment of Flex Duct under the element's Properties, and it must be done on an "instance" basis. the The available patterns of Flex Duct are hard-coded, and you are limited to what the software offers. The one I used in the above image is "Flex 2".

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube