Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fixture units vs flow

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
veb
Observer
4661 Views, 12 Replies

Fixture units vs flow

Hello

I am an engineer from Iceland and I have been having trouble with calculating pipe sizes for domestic hot and cold water. Here in Iceland we assign flow to each plumbing fixture ( f.ex. kitchen sink has flow=0,2 l/s) then as they sum up we use a factor equation to calculate the biggest probable flow in the pipe. (We use Eurocode and Danish standard)
Is it possible in Revit MEP to calculate this way?

You use fixture units, which I have been reading a little bit upon. I think I could possibly use that option if the other one is not possible, but I have run into some difficulties. When I have set my plumbing fixture, f.ex. kitchen sink, to flow configuration= fixture units and fixture units=1,0 and then read what my pipes connected say, the hot domestic water says my flow=0.1893 l/s and fixture units=1 which is quite normal but the cold domestic water on the other hand says flow=0.9464 l/s and fixture units=1. The warm domestic water flow seems to be out of the charts for just one kitchen sink! Can anyone possibly explain to me what I might be doing wrong, or maybe I am misunderstanding the way you calculate.

Best regards,

Asdis

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
Chris.Aquino
in reply to: veb

To help the community get a better idea of what you are seeing, please reply with a small file showing the behavior.

Chris Aquino
Adoption Marketing Manager | BIM Collaborate Pro
@Aquinotecture

Message 3 of 13
PCadima
in reply to: Chris.Aquino

Hi

I have the same problem if the FU are below 8 the flow rate is always calculated to 0.9464l/s which is excessive (see attached image).