Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Existing electrical panels w/added remodels

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
justin.sebastian
1134 Views, 9 Replies

Existing electrical panels w/added remodels

I am new to Revit MEP and wanting to know if it is possible to reference in an existing electrical layout with panels, schedules everything, and add my new work to the existing stuff without having to copy everything into my drawing. Feel free to expand on this as much as you'd like, all help is appreciated at this point.

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10

To be honest - it all depends on what you are trying to achieve, what your deliverables are and what your starting point inputs are. If you want to use it as an upgraded drawing tool (not really what it was designed for) then you can. If you want to use it in a more intelligent then you won't be able to just connect the new to the existing. You can link in the existing but will have to replace the linked models panels with panels in your model and work from there.

If my reply answers your query, please use the Accept as Solution.
Please give Kudos as appropriate to enhance the value of these forums.

Thank you!
Message 3 of 10

So if I want to figure loads on my panel schedules and add new circuits to the existing, does this mean that I have to copy in every single light, receptacle, panel, disconnect, etc.?

Message 4 of 10

also, if this is the solution, is there something similar to copy nested objects in AutoCAD, where I can just copy the stuff in exactly where it is, also tie it to my company's model vs it being tied to the company that done the original design(these are exactly the same except with our add-on)

Message 5 of 10
dennis
in reply to: justin.sebastian