Revit MEP

Reply
Contributor
cesslinger
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-10-2014
Message 1 of 19 (233 Views)
Accepted Solution

Duplicating views

233 Views, 18 Replies
04-16-2014 08:16 AM

I would like to show my mechanical equipment power on a separate power plan. My problem is I do not know how to show the electrical equipment/devices on the mechanical power plan without them showing on main power plan and vice versa.

Active Member
Desaltivo
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-05-2013
Message 2 of 19 (224 Views)

Re: Duplicating views

04-16-2014 08:51 AM in reply to: cesslinger
I'm not sure I understood your question correctly, but if you're using a callout view for the power plan, you should be able to change the "Disciplne" field to show Mechanical, Eletrical etc.
Contributor
cesslinger
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-10-2014
Message 3 of 19 (215 Views)

Re: Duplicating views

04-16-2014 09:35 AM in reply to: Desaltivo

I am duplicating the power plan to create a mechanical power plan. Not using callouts.

Active Member
Desaltivo
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-05-2013
Message 4 of 19 (210 Views)

Re: Duplicating views

04-16-2014 09:49 AM in reply to: cesslinger

Uhm, so you shouldn't be having any problem changing the Discipline. Have you tried that method? (It's under the Properties of the View). Unless you made a Dependent View, you should be able to change it. If you can't, you should check if the view has a Template applyed, change it to <none> then you'll be able to change the Discipline.

Contributor
cesslinger
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-10-2014
Message 5 of 19 (205 Views)

Re: Duplicating views

04-16-2014 09:53 AM in reply to: Desaltivo

I have the discipline set at Electrical. What I am trying to do is duplicate the power plan to create a mechanical power plan. The issue I am having is that the electrical devices on my power plan are showing up on the new plan I created. When I delete the devices on the new mechanical power plan, it deletes the devices on the base power plan.

Contributor
apjones
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎04-01-2011
Message 6 of 19 (202 Views)

Re: Duplicating views

04-16-2014 10:19 AM in reply to: cesslinger

You will likely have to use filters.  Look into setting up filters and apply them to the view to accomplish this.

Pete

AutoCAD 2014 Certified Professional
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,180
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 7 of 19 (198 Views)

Re: Duplicating views

04-16-2014 11:08 AM in reply to: cesslinger

There are multiple ways to accomplish this, and two of them are:

 

1. Place the Mechanical Power and the Main Power elements on separate Worksets and under V/G for each View, turn off the unwanted Workset.

 

2. Create two View Filters for the appropriate Category(ies) and set the Filter Rules for one to "Comments" "equals" "Mech" and the other to "Comments" "does not equal" "Mech". Add the appropriate View Filter to your Views and disable the Visibility checkbox. Now, to designate an element for the Mechanical Power Plan, select it and enter "M" in "Comments" under Properties.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Contributor
cesslinger
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-10-2014
Message 8 of 19 (159 Views)

Re: Duplicating views

04-17-2014 12:36 PM in reply to: cesslinger

Thanks! The filter option worked great!

 

Contributor
cesslinger
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-10-2014
Message 9 of 19 (141 Views)

Re: Duplicating views

04-18-2014 06:00 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

I was able to create my filters for the mechanical power. Now how do I get keynotes to show only for that page. My keynotes are showing up on both plans, as well as text.

 

Thank you

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,180
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 10 of 19 (135 Views)

Re: Duplicating views

04-18-2014 06:48 AM in reply to: cesslinger

Did you duplicate the Plan as a Dependent? If so, the Dependent View will share the exact same V/G Settings and Annotations as the "Master View", and any changes made to either View will identically affect the other.

 

Did you duplicate the Plan with Detailing? If so, the annotations from the original View were copied over. They can safely be deleted without affecting the original View.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube