Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
Niamhy14
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-04-2012
Message 1 of 9 (293 Views)

Double Lined Piping

293 Views, 8 Replies
09-11-2012 07:45 AM

Hello,
I am working on a plumbing design and am having touble with the settings. I am working on my sanitary lines and in plan view they are showing up as double lined piping regaurdless of diameter. The plan view is set to coarse and wireframe, and as far as I know, there are no filters besides colour that is applied to the piping. Also, it doesn't matter what line type I am using, I am still having the same issue. I need these pipe lines to show up as single line.

 

Any help would be appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 9 (291 Views)

Re: Double Lined Piping

09-11-2012 07:54 AM in reply to: Niamhy14

Niamhy14 wrote:

"...they are showing up as double lined piping regaurdless of diameter..."


Does this also indicate that the width of the double lines does not change according to the pipe size?

What is most likely the case is that the Pipe Category is overridden to "Detail Level: Fine", which means that it will show as such regardless of the View's setting. You can check this by going to Visibility/Graphics Overrides and looking at the "Detail Level" column for the piping Categories.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
Niamhy14
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-04-2012
Message 3 of 9 (281 Views)

Re: Double Lined Piping

09-11-2012 09:12 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

The width of the double lined pipes do change along with the diameter.

 

I did check the Visibility/Graphics Overrides to see what the detail level was for piping, and they are all set to "By View." I tried to change it but it doesn't seem to make any difference.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 9 (279 Views)

Re: Double Lined Piping

09-11-2012 09:17 AM in reply to: Niamhy14

Are the fitting appearing double-line as well? If so, could you post an image?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
Niamhy14
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-04-2012
Message 5 of 9 (277 Views)

Re: Double Lined Piping

09-11-2012 09:25 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

No they aren't. This is how the piping looks:

 

 

 

pipes.JPG

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 9 (272 Views)

Re: Double Lined Piping

09-11-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: Niamhy14

I don't know of any other possible causes beside the V/G override. I guess if the pipe were insulated, and the Pipe Insulation Category was being forced to Fine in V/G, that would cause this, too. What version of Revit are you using?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
Niamhy14
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-04-2012
Message 7 of 9 (269 Views)

Re: Double Lined Piping

09-11-2012 09:58 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

All of the piping settings are to By View.

I am using Revit MEP 2012.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 9 (257 Views)

Re: Double Lined Piping

09-11-2012 12:00 PM in reply to: Niamhy14

Is this occurring consistently or only on that View? Is it just that Pipe System (Sanitary) or all of the piping?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Active Member
Niamhy14
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-04-2012
Message 9 of 9 (236 Views)

Re: Double Lined Piping

09-12-2012 06:05 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Wow am I ever dumb. It turns out that it was my view range that was affecting the pipe. I noticed this when I went to a level below and the piping I was trying to change to single line was single line on that view. I checked the view range and adjusted and it worked.

Thanks for your help. I did learn a lot over this forum that I didn't know so it wasn't a complete waste. Thanks again. I really appreciate it.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube