Revit MEP

Reply
Valued Contributor
RJK42
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 1 of 6 (391 Views)

Detail Lines / Model Lines

391 Views, 5 Replies
01-16-2013 06:07 AM

Is there a way to initially start drawing lines in "Detail Lines" instead of "Model Lines"?  I am renovating a building and working off of old blueprints.  The project has to be completed in Revit, and instead of drawing the pipes and equiment in 3D for demo purposes, I just want to draw single lines instead.  The issue is that when I draw the lines, its faded.  I would have to select each segment and convert it to a "Detail Line" to have it stand out.

 

Thanks!! 

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,113
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 6 (388 Views)

Re: Detail Lines / Model Lines

01-16-2013 06:19 AM in reply to: RJK42

The Model Lines command is on the Architectural tab, and has the default keyboard shortcut of "LI" while the Detail Lines command resides on the Annotate tab and has the default shortcut "DL". If you wish to change the keyboard shortcuts, go to View tab » User Interface ▼ Keyboard Shortcuts.

 

Note (Model Lines): The reason that Model Lines appear faded is that Revit considers them to be an architectural element, and therefore they are classified as "out-of-discipline" (and consequently faded) if the View's Discipline is set to anything other than Architectural or Coordination.

 

Note (Detail Lines): Keep in mind that Detail Lines are annotation elements, and as such, they will ONLY appear in Views (and subsequent Dependent Views) in which they are drawn. Model Lines, conversely, are model elements and will appear in all applicable Views.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Contributor
RJK42
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 3 of 6 (385 Views)

Re: Detail Lines / Model Lines

01-16-2013 06:26 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

I will only need to show these lines in their own sheet.  So would it be appropriate to use the Detail Lines?? I initially did this in AutoCAD and imported the demo lines with (Hidden) type into Revit but the format was off.  For example, when I created a simple box in AutoCAD using the "Hidden" type, after importing it into Revit, it look like 2 parellel lines instead.  But when I use Revit, I re-drew the lines using and selected the "Demolished" type and everything is as I wanted.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,113
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 6 (377 Views)

Re: Detail Lines / Model Lines

01-16-2013 07:10 AM in reply to: RJK42

Sounds like you're just doing 2D drafting in Revit. How fun... Anyway, if that is the case, I would recommend setting your Views' Discipline to Coordination and using Models Lines with a "Demolition" line style, which can then be controlled under V/G and through View Templates. That way, you will be able to coordinate with the demo information in other Views if necessary. And if you have to copy a demolition View for some reason, you don't have to worry about copying over the Detail Lines as well.

 

Also, regarding the AutoCAD import - try overriding the Line Styles of the layers to "Demolished" under Object Styles » Imported Objects tab.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Contributor
RJK42
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 5 of 6 (364 Views)

Re: Detail Lines / Model Lines

01-16-2013 11:24 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

I like your first advice.  I'm actually trying to stay clear of AutoCAD as much as possible and only use it if I'm in a jam because I'm not as experienced in Revit.  But anyway here are the steps I did.  I just want to make sure that is what you suggested.

 

I left my model lines alone,

Right clicked and duplicated the view and renamed it demo mech 

I made sure I am currently in the new "demo mech" view

Then, within the properties under graphics, changed the discipline from "Mechanical" to "Coordination"

Now my "model lines" are nice and bold and now selectable.

I Isolated all my lines and change the type to "Demolished"

 

I linked a Revit file, named Arch, into my Mech and the back ground was all faded.  After making the coordination view, everything is darken.  I would like to have everything faded except for the demo.

 

Thanks again!!!!

 

I attached some pics.  This is representing old fin tubes with with risers.

 

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,113
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 6 (361 Views)

Re: Detail Lines / Model Lines

01-16-2013 11:44 AM in reply to: RJK42

For your Views, under Visibility/Graphics Overrides » Revit Links tab, mark the Arch Link as Halftone and the entire Linked Model will become faded.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube