Revit MEP

Reply
Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 1 of 8 (947 Views)
Accepted Solution

Cant connect duct tap (boot) into my main rectangular duct

947 Views, 7 Replies
11-22-2013 11:23 AM

 

Was hoping someone could enilghten me as to why I cant seem to get a duct tap to connect to my main duct.  The duct tap, no matter if the elevation is matched, wil not connect to my duct. I thought this was a pretty basic.  I can connect a round duct into my main rectangular duct, as well as a tee with no issue.  Thanks in advance.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,175
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 8 (917 Views)

Re: Cant connect duct tap (boot) into my main rectangular duct

11-22-2013 09:12 PM in reply to: RedMan77

What error message are you receiving? Are you using the default Revit Family for the Tap? If not, can you attach the Family here? Also, what version of Revit are you using?

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 3 of 8 (885 Views)

Re: Cant connect duct tap (boot) into my main rectangular duct

11-25-2013 07:08 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Using Revit 2014.  Not receiving any error message.  I select Rectangular Duct Tap - Beveled Standard. It will not connect to a horizontal duct.  The edge or middle of the duct IM trying to connect to highlights.  I didnt think I needed to specify the height but even when I did to match the duct it doesnt connect.  The family is an out of the box family.  The last thing i can think that might help is when I place this fitting, it seems just place the fitting on top of the duct.  Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,175
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 8 (879 Views)

Re: Cant connect duct tap (boot) into my main rectangular duct

11-25-2013 07:32 AM in reply to: RedMan77

Are you manually placing the Duct Tap? Revit will automatically take care of that for you according to the Routing Preferences specified under the Duct's Type Properties. Under the 'Junction' header, make sure that the desired Tap Family is specified and then the 'Preferred Junction Type' is set to "Tap". Now, using this Duct Type, you should be able to draw your branch Ducts right up to the main Duct, and Revit will place the Tap automatically for you.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Contributor
bvm76
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎09-10-2013
Message 5 of 8 (873 Views)

Re: Cant connect duct tap (boot) into my main rectangular duct

11-25-2013 08:14 AM in reply to: CADastrophe
I downloaded your fitting and use with no issue.

As CADastrophe said, this should be define on your routing preference.
Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 6 of 8 (860 Views)

Re: Cant connect duct tap (boot) into my main rectangular duct

11-25-2013 11:08 AM in reply to: bvm76

Thanks!  I got it.  I was placing the fitting manually which obviously was wrong.  Besides Im an electrical guy not mechanical! Just kidding.  Being given the priveledge of trying ot figure this out for the electrical/ mechanical guys in the middle of a project.  Been doing tutorials but have needed alot of help lately.  Thanks for everyone who helped.  Much appreciated.

Mentor
RedMan77
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
Message 7 of 8 (857 Views)

Re: Cant connect duct tap (boot) into my main rectangular duct

11-25-2013 11:19 AM in reply to: RedMan77

Is there a better way than to go thru and change it from tee to tap?  Seems alot of buttons to hit to make the change.   I noticed for the first time I get different options based on whether i select tee or tap.  Do you find yourself going between both frequently and if so is the way you indicated the best? I guess what I am trying to say is whats the fastest/ efficient method when you are switching between both. Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,175
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 8 (845 Views)

Re: Cant connect duct tap (boot) into my main rectangular duct

11-25-2013 11:52 AM in reply to: RedMan77

Included in the default Mechanical Project Template, there should be two separate Duct Types for Tap and Tees. So, if the two different Duct Types are not present, I would suggest duplicating one and changing the preferring junction type. That way, you only have to make the change to the Type Selector to control Taps vs. Tees.

 

And for the record, I'm [generally] an electrical guy, too - so I don't really have a 'personal preference' in regards to Duct and Pipe workflow.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube