Revit MEP

Reply
Valued Contributor
adave
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 1 of 8 (490 Views)

Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

490 Views, 7 Replies
01-17-2013 11:05 AM

I've gone thru the tutorials on connectors, supply and return, etc. I can connect, say, a boiler to a circ, and then on to some baseboard, and get flows, etc.  But what happens if you want to have an intervening primary loop, hydronic separator, etc, between the boiler and the heat emitters?  Is MEP able to do this?  Would like to design a primary loop with inputs thru closely spaced tees from a boiler, and outputs to various heat emitter circuits.  Can't seem to find any discussions on this, much less tutorials.   I must be missing something(?)  Maybe MEP is incapable of this level of detail?

Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 2 of 8 (409 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

01-21-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: adave

You might have to seperate the primary loop system from the secondary.  Could you post a schematic of what you are trying to do?  I have supply air systems with VAVs and FTUs, I have to separate the systems at the VAV or FTU.

Valued Contributor
adave
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 3 of 8 (371 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

01-26-2013 12:35 PM in reply to: asommer

Sorry for the delay in responding...

 

Attached is a simple conceptual drawing.  I suppose that I could create a new "family" for the primary loop itself, with hydronic connectors at the closely spaced tees(?). 

Valued Contributor
adave
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 4 of 8 (358 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

01-27-2013 10:19 AM in reply to: adave

Next step...

 

I created a "primary loop" family (attached).  Onto it, I grafted several copies of a "Closely Spaced Tees" family (also attached) that I made from scratch, with connectors designated with directions/flowrates.   I still need to create the circulator family, and graft it in.

 

Do you think I'm on the right path?

Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 5 of 8 (318 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

01-29-2013 08:53 AM in reply to: adave

Check your connection direction on those CSTs, The "arrow" is not flow direction, it is the direction the pipe/duct connects and should piont out from the part, and you specify "In" or "Out" flow direction when you select each connector.

 

As for the loop, that's a tough one.  The "In" and "Out" or as Revit would specify "Supply" and "Return" goes into the same loop.  The flows may cancel each other out.  I had a similar problem with a boiler system, I had to break and cap between the Supply and Return branches.  This may be the only way, I don't believe Revit understands this type of system.

 

I could be wrong, though...

Valued Contributor
adave
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 6 of 8 (307 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

01-29-2013 09:53 AM in reply to: asommer

Thanks for the suggestion.  I figured out the arrow direction vs in/out after watching a tutorial, but thanks for pointing it out and confiriming this.

 

I guess I'll have to play around with the loop.  At this point, I'm thinking that the pipe between the CSTs will just be for "show" , and the individual connectors on the CST's themselves will have to be  assigned flow values (so flow from boiler won't automatically propagate through the CSTs). Doesn't seem to me to be the way to run an airline though.

 

I may post another question in another thread after I've played around with it for a while.  Can't believe someone else hasn't figured out how to run such a basic system.  Hate to reinvent the wheel (oops, I mean primary loop).

 

Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 7 of 8 (301 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

01-29-2013 10:50 AM in reply to: adave

Yeah, with the way Revit does calcs and flows, it wants everything to be in a parralel system.  If you had two loops (a supply loop and separate Return loop), it would work easily.  The Supply and Return in one loop definitely tripps it up, unless a magical update happens soon.

Valued Contributor
adave
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 8 of 8 (266 Views)

Re: Can MEP be used to create hydronic subsystems?

02-02-2013 07:48 AM in reply to: asommer

Good observation.

 

I'll keep playing around with it as I get time.  WIll post anything significant that I find.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube