Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best to host to levels or reference planes?

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
SATX
6424 Views, 8 Replies

Best to host to levels or reference planes?

I am brand new to Revit MEP.  I am trying to set up templates so I can blow and go once I start a project.

I would like to host air devices to a plane set at the ceiling level rather than offset them from the floor.  That way, I can easily move the air devices up or down if necessary. 

For the 1st floor, should I create extra level and call it "1st Floor Ceiling", or should I create reference plane?  When placing an air device, if I am on Level 1 the default seems to be for the air device to be hosted to Level 1 with an offset of 0, and it wants me to specify an offset.  There is a field with a drop down box that allows me to specify the level that I am hosted to.  It looks like I would be able to create extra levels and have them appear in this dropdown.  I tried creating reference planes, but they do not appear in this dropdown.  Is there a way to get them to appear?

Assuming that I can get the reference planes to appear in the dropdown, would that be the preferred option compared to creating extra levels?

I also want to host duct and fan powered boxes in a similar fashion, but instead of at the ceiling plane I want to offset them above the ceiling.  Would I want to offset the duct above the plane established as the ceiling, or would I want to create another level for the duct?  If I hosted duct to the ceiling level with an offset, then I would be able to move air devices and ductwork up and down together.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
CoreyDaun
in reply to: SATX

Hi SATX, I hope this helps...

SATX wrote:

"I am brand new to Revit MEP.  I am trying to set up templates so I can blow and go once I start a project."