Revit MEP

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 11 of 13 (121 Views)

Re: Attached Duct not moving with Diffuser

09-25-2012 04:33 PM in reply to: asommer

I don't think that worked.  You could send me a message with your e-mail, I could send it directly.  I never used drop box before.

Product Support
alan.quinn
Posts: 580
Registered: ‎09-08-2010
Message 12 of 13 (113 Views)

Re: Attached Duct not moving with Diffuser

09-26-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: asommer

In your video it looks like you have a main duct with seceral Diffusers conencting to it with short ductign between. The order of operations is as follows:

 

1. Click on Diffuser and choose Connect Into.

2. Pick the duct you want to connect too.

3. In Plan > Lock and Align the Diffuser to the Ref Plane.

4. Move the Ref Plane.

 

I'm not sure what expereience you have in the application but it you do not have any formal training it may be a good idea to get some. Also the Autodesk Wikihelp site for 2013 is full of great information on ducts and many other features in Revit. Go here for search results on Ducts: http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/search?source=help&product=Revit&q=ducts&language=ENU&version=2013

 

I have also places another video and file in my Dropbox. I did not do the above steps on one diffuser and duct. I suggest you practice in my file.

 

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/11938886/07639255_Video_3.mp4

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/11938886/07639255_File_3.rvt

 

 

 

 

 



Alan Quinn
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Mentor
asommer
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
Message 13 of 13 (100 Views)

Re: Attached Duct not moving with Diffuser

09-26-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: asommer

Well, The diffusers I use are Face Hosted, so I cannot place them in mid-air without a Reference plane to host to.  I also don't have to "Align" and "Lock" the diffuser to the Plane.

 

I see you had to use the "Connect Into" to get it to work properly.  Is that the only way?  In previous versions, I had no problems with this.  when you connect duct to a diffuser (manually), it should remain connected, even when you move the diffuser.  Now, you have to tell the Revit you want it to remain connected, even after you physically connect it?  What is the reason for the change?

 

I've been using Revit MEP since version 2008 (with formal training) , and Architectural since 2004 (my 10 yo. nephew could figure it out).

 

Please let me know why you have to use "Connect Into" to get the connection to stay.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube