Revit MEP

Reply
Active Member
lindgren.scott
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-26-2012
Message 1 of 3 (528 Views)

Annotation Tag - Visibility Instance Parameter

528 Views, 2 Replies
06-28-2012 11:17 AM

I'm trying to modify my Electrical Fixture Tag to be able to align the text with either right or left justification.  I copied the label and changed the horizontal alignments accordingly.  Then I created two Yes/No visibility instance parameters: one "Align Right", the other "Align Left", with a formula in "Align Left" to read =not(Align Right).

 

Then in the family properties, linked the label "Visible" properties to their respective "Align Right"/"Align Left" parameter.

 

However, when I load it into the project, the instance parameters do not show up in the properties box at all.  Is this just one of the limitations of Revit?

 

I could just make different family types (like boxed vs. standard), but feel using instance parameters for visibility would be much "cleaner".

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,147
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 3 (526 Views)

Re: Annotation Tag - Visibility Instance Parameter

06-28-2012 11:31 AM in reply to: lindgren.scott

You have followed the steps I had originally taken EXACTLY. It's like revisiting the disappointments of the past, when the idea of using Instance Parameters in Tags was shattered. Unfortunately, they cannot be used in Tags and you must create a new Type for each. Maybe one day it will be possible, but I'm not holding my breath.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Mentor
smbrennan85
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 3 of 3 (336 Views)

Re: Annotation Tag - Visibility Instance Parameter

07-24-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: lindgren.scott

Did you ever find a solution to this? I am wanting to accomplish the same thing.

Shawn B.

Follow me on Twitter @That85CADGuy.  ||    Connect with me on Linkedin.
To help improve Autodesk Products, please Click Here to provide feedback.
To help improve the use of these Forums, please  Accept As Solution and  Give Kudos.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube