Revit MEP

Reply
Valued Contributor
JacobJBB
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎08-20-2007
Message 1 of 13 (5,654 Views)

Adding new Sub-disciplines in Project Browser

5654 Views, 12 Replies
09-07-2007 11:25 AM
Our firm has a seperate plumbing department who are hopping on to start modeling. However in Revit MEP, Plumbing is a sub-discipline to Mechanical. In our central file the Plumbing sub-tree has disappeared. How do I re-create one? I also need to create another sub-tree called "Fire Protection".

How do I create new discipline sub-trees in the project browser?? Thank you.
Contributor
dleo
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-25-2007
Message 2 of 13 (5,658 Views)

Re: Adding new Sub-disciplines in Project Browser

09-07-2007 12:48 PM in reply to: JacobJBB
Go to Floor plan that you want to be as Plumbing sub-discipline.right click on that plan, select "view property".
under Graphic parameter, you may see Sub-Discipline, on the value of Sub-Descipline, simply type "Plumbing", then you create Plumbing Sub-Discipline.
same as Fire Protection.

then, in the project browser, it should appear automatically.
once you create new sub-discipline, you can select that
for other floor plans.

Good Luck! Message was edited by: dleo
Valued Contributor
JacobJBB
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎08-20-2007
Message 3 of 13 (5,658 Views)

Re: Adding new Sub-disciplines in Project Browser

09-07-2007 01:39 PM in reply to: JacobJBB
Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately those procedures don't work and that is why I'm having problems. I think I may have mistakenly erased the Plumbing sub-discipline and possibily screwed up my file.

To clarify, I am hoping there is a way to reinstate the plumbing sub-discipline. I think thats a better way to ask the question.
Employee
KyleB_Autodesk
Posts: 952
Registered: ‎10-21-2005
Message 4 of 13 (5,658 Views)

Re: Adding new Sub-disciplines in Project Browser

09-09-2007 02:45 PM in reply to: JacobJBB
Hey Jacob,
Have you tried typing in your desired Sub-Discipline name in the View Properties dialog when you create or modify views? That's how you create Sub-Disciplines, pretty straightforward. See the attached image.

You also might have switched the Project Browser sorting method, which can be changed on the Options Bar when you select the Top-Level "Views" item in your Project Browser, I'll throw up an image on a subsequent post.

Hope that Helps,
Kyle B


Kyle Bernhardt
Product Line Manager
Revit Services
Autodesk, Inc.

Employee
KyleB_Autodesk
Posts: 952
Registered: ‎10-21-2005
Message 5 of 13 (5,658 Views)

Re: Adding new Sub-disciplines in Project Browser

09-09-2007 02:46 PM in reply to: JacobJBB
Project Browser sorting selection...


Kyle Bernhardt
Product Line Manager
Revit Services
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
vewright
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎06-14-2000
Message 6 of 13 (5,658 Views)

Re: Adding new Sub-disciplines in Project Browser

01-16-2008 02:13 PM in reply to: JacobJBB
Great tips in this thread!

I do wonder, however, why the Revit team didn't consider having a right-click on an entry in the project browser bring up a context menu. Seems to me that it could work......
Distinguished Contributor
vewright
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎06-14-2000
Message 7 of 13 (5,658 Views)

Re: Adding new Sub-disciplines in Project Browser

03-24-2008 01:09 PM in reply to: JacobJBB
It appears to me that Revit Architecture does not have the sub-displine field in the properties dialog box, although you can set the discipline.

If you create an architectural model in Revit Architecture, then open it in Revit MEP to add MEP systems, you still don't have a sub-discipline field.
Employee
KyleB_Autodesk
Posts: 952
Registered: ‎10-21-2005
Message 8 of 13 (5,658 Views)

Re: Adding new Sub-disciplines in Project Browser

03-25-2008 07:06 PM in reply to: JacobJBB
That's because the Sub-Discipline Parameter is a Project Parameter that needs to be created.

I posted on this in the AUGI Forums. Check it out at http://forums.augi.com/showpost.php?p=804091&postcount=6.

Cheers,
Kyle B
Revit MEP Product Manager
http://inside-the-system.typepad.com


Kyle Bernhardt
Product Line Manager
Revit Services
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
vewright
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎06-14-2000
Message 9 of 13 (5,658 Views)

Re: Adding new Sub-disciplines in Project Browser

03-26-2008 06:08 AM in reply to: JacobJBB
Thanks for the tip--it solved a big mystery. I guess I will have to add AUGI to my list of resources to check when something isn't clear.

I usually check Revit help first, thinking that searching the help file should bring most issues to the surface. However, searching for sub-discipline or discipline does not provide a clue on this issue. Need I say more?
Contributor
akaymurat
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-03-2008
Message 10 of 13 (4,023 Views)

Re: Adding new Sub-disciplines in Project Browser

02-08-2013 06:29 AM in reply to: JacobJBB

hi all

to add a new sub-discipline you can follow under steps and attachment jpeg files

1-right click an existing floor plan name and from duplicate view select duplicate and copy a new file

2-you'll see Copy of 1- Mech

3-right click on the copy of 1- mech file and click properties

4-later you can write a name that you want a new sub- discipline name

and you can add more new sub discipline names start 1 to 4 steps

you must repeat all steps for a new sub discipline

i hope will be useful, Actually must be easy way but ihope Autodesk Find a better way like esaily right click and create a new sub-discipline

 

Murat AKAY

TOKAR A.Ş.

Turkey / Istanbul

Murat AKAY
Mechanical Draftsman
Hvac-Fire-Plumbing-Piping

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube